We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Metro Hotel: the most adorable hotel I've ever stayed in!!”
Review of The Metro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Metro Hotel
Ranked #34 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Metro Hotel: the most adorable hotel I've ever stayed in!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My family and I visited SF back in May and chose the Metro Hotel after being referred by another family member. So glad we did! It made our first SF experience even better. The week we decided to visit was also the Bay to Breakers race right down the road from the hotel. They had booked up fast but Matt was able to fit us in for the dates we wanted, the only catch was we had to switch rooms in the middle of our stay, which was no problem at all! we simply packed up our stuff, left it on the beds and their staff moved everything to our new room by the time we returned that day!! the rooms were small, clean, and adorable. The beds were comfortable. The showers small but they did their job of getting us clean! The weather was nice so were able to open the windows and people watch the Bay to Breakers. We weren't really in our rooms long enough to find anything to complain about. The hotel is within walking distance of so many great stores and restaurants. we were able to walk to pretty much every meal we ate that week. Matt and Shana were so incredibly friendly and made our trip so easy by recommending places to visit. Shana even made dinner reservations for us, provided us with a list of good wineries for our day spent in wine country, and even checked us into our flights and left our boarding passes in our room on the last day of our trip. I was blown away by the quality of service provided by the Metro Hotel! I will definitely stay again and will recommend ANYONE visiting SF to stay there as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sclinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    192
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
79
203
63
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

For my first visit to San Francisco for my birthday I definitely chose the right place! Even during booking the staff was very helpful. I was told the only room left during my stay was upstairs with a small window. I was a little worried but the location seemed to good to be true so I went for it.
The room was a perfect size for one person. The hotel is VERY clean and centrally located. Everyone was extremely attentive and knowledgable. Shana and Matt stand out the most for me.
I was super happy I chose this hotel and will only stay here if I can when I visit SF again.

They helped make this one of my best birthday's ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasgo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I recently booked a week's stay at this hotel. On my request, I asked for a 1st Floor room. When I received my reminder of my reservation I was surprised to see I was on the second floor of a walk up. I responded that when I checked on my room and asked if it was on the first floor I was told yes. Also in the confirmation they mentioned you would need to be a sound sleeper for this room because the restaurant is below and they start a dough machine in the morning. . I therefore sent an email back stating my surprise and telling them that I am not a sound sleeper and I wished someone had mentioned these things to me when I called.
My response from Matt

Hi Sandra,
When most people refer to the next floor up from the ground floor they refer to it as the first floor, at least this is what I have experienced working in a hotel for the last 5 years.
I’m sorry that this is not ideal for you. Please let us know if you would like to cancel and look for other accomodations.
Thanks!
Matt
And after 5 years he does not know how to spell accommodations. Also, I was not put on the first floor but the second floor according to my confirmation. We took his advice and cancelled our reservation. I guess they do not need a week long guest there. Since my son lives around the corner he will not recommend them to anyone.
I have to say that when I called to cancel and told the person answering the phone what had occurred she was very apologetic for the email. Sadly, that did not help me for this trip.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there are 25 steps to the first floor of rooms and 40 to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MetroHotelSDF, General Manager at The Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Good Morning Sandra,

This is Shana from the Metro Hotel San Francisco. I wanted to reach out to you regarding your cancelled reservation. We are terribly sorry that our accommodations were not the right fit for you as we are conveniently located close to your family member’s home. While we have been in business for 30-years we are constantly trying to improve and manage guest’s expectations. Clearly in these circumstances we came up short as the online booking descriptions had not been updated to reflect the noise from the restaurant and indicating we do not have an elevator as all the rooms are up at least one flight of stairs (22-steps) which you now know.

I apologize for the disappointment and frustration we have caused as you plan for your upcoming trip over the holidays it was never our intention to complicate or disrupt your plans. However, we do realize and acknowledge our responsibility in doing a better job of providing accurate descriptions so, guests are not disappointed upon arrival.

Unfortunately, we realize that we will not be your hotel of choice when you come to San Francisco. I am happy to recommend other places that may be better suited for you needs in the neighborhood. The Stanyan Park Hotel (415) 751-1000 is located at the edge of Golden Gate Park and is a historical building. I searched your dates of travel and they have a room with 2-twin beds interior room at the rate of $175 + 15% tax = $201.25 per night. The 71-Haight bus will take you from the hotel to our neighborhood.

In Japan town which is close by you can try the Hotel Kabuki (415) 922-3200 . The Hotel Kabuki has 1-Kabuki King Room available for $165.25 per night it includes a Japanese style soaking tub and LCD TV in 195 square foot room and the 22-Filmore bus will get you to our neighborhood.

Thank you for your feedback it is valuable to us. We hope you enjoy the holidays with your family in San Francisco. If you have any questions or would like to speak with me you can reach me on my mobile at 415-XXX-XXXX. Safe travels!

Cheers,
Shana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland,, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I read all the reviews and decided to give it a try. I was completely happy with my stay. I was in room 207 and it was just me. I will start with the two negatives, no elevator and my room was tiny. I did not need a big room so it was fine for me. The hotel has a clean and quiet feel to it. The staff is friendly and the hotel is tidy and cute. My window faced another building but the tradeoff was to have a quiet room. The shower was tiny as well so if you are a taller person, this might be a problem. It is not a luxury hotel but if you want a clean place to sleep this is a good choice. You can walk down to Haight for shopping and there are restaurants all around. The bus was within a block so I could get anywhere in the city.

Room Tip: 207 is very small, good for one person(double bed) or two traveling very light(not a lot of room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelikelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We’re a couple from NYC area and decided to stay at Metro Hotel for part of our vacation when we visited the San Francisco area. It was immediately apparent that the front desk attendants truly love the city that they live in and are there for their customers with information, advice, and, in our case, parking spots that they would give up at the end of their shift.

Throughout the week, we discussed proper parking on the streets of San Fran, public transit, the graffiti found near the hotel, the pains of living in a city and making friends, and the quaint neighborhood the hotel is located in. Being from the East coast, we are used to a sort of “figure it out and take action” attitude, the hotel clerks were the complete opposite and very helpful and full of tidbits of advice on the best options for visiting the city.

The accommodations are great for a couple or two couples; our room was on the second floor, a little bit of a walk because there is no elevator. The room was equipped with two full beds, one of which had just enough room to shimmy into one side. Don’t plan on getting a cot into the room, there really isn’t any space. There was a nice sitting area by the windows at the front of the room to look out over the street. The commode and shower stall are separated to save time in the mornings, the shower head being a little bit short for the average guy of 5’ 10”.

Take heed that rooms can be a little bit noisy in terms of the traffic noise as this slightly rustic hotel does only have single paned windows, but for those who are used to a little bit of traffic or are deep sleepers, this shouldn’t be a problem. The location is a great area with free parking around the hotel, public transit a couple blocks down (Market Street), and just blocks from midtown San Francisco, the painted ladies, Union Square, and right down the street from two coffee shops, a comic book shop, a game shop and a couple bars.

Overall, we would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may want to request a room on the back side of the hotel, off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Tucked away between a restaurant and a yoga-place on Divisadero St., the Metro Hotel is a great place from where to start exploring the city. Divisadero St. has many things to offer: hip wine-bars, classic to ultimate-hip coffee and breakfast-places, an excellent sushi venue, no-nonsense Burger joints and whole-foods markets. Cool neighborhoods like Alamo Square, Hayes Valley and The Haight are just around the corner, the Golden Gate Park is a bike-ride away (don't hesitate to rent a bike overnight: the staff at the front desk is happy to put the bikes in their storage).

Small rooms, but who'd be sitting inside all day? Some $90 a night bought us a good bed, a decent shower and a clean, well-kept room with anything from cocktail-bars to coffee-places just around the corner. If you're very fond of staying in places where walking from one end of the room to the other takes you more than five steps, this place isn't for you. If you couldn't care less about training for the next marathon in your room, but just want a excellent stay in a nice place that welcomes you back with a smile after a full day of hanging around in San Francisco, the Metro Hotel is what you're looking for.

If there's just one thing to be critical about, it's the shower. It might differ between rooms, but in ours, adjusting the temperature was a bit like 'OK this is nice but I'd like it just a little warm...OH MY GOD THE FIRES OF MOUNT DOOM ARE RAINING ON ME'. It takes some practice, is what we're saying.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThijsKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

OK - so if you're reading this you're a discerning traveller right? - so you'll need to read the other reviews too and get a balanced picture, But I LOVED IT. As usual when you've travelled half way round the planet and you're tired and jet lagged, arriving in the suburbs of any city can seem a bit daunting, but this hotel really is a little gem - it has a great authentic feel as it is in an older part of the city with lovely old wooden houses and authentic local cafés and bars nearby. It is basic (but many cheaper hotels in the USA are) - so DON'T expect tea/coffee facilities in the hotel, or a mini bar or a restaurant, but there's at least one coffee shop nearby on Oak Street that opens at 7 am and I enjoyed taking in the atmosphere with the locals in a morning to get coffee and croissant.
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. We had the largest room I think (Room 115) which is at the back of the hotel. As some other reviews have said it looks over a nice garden/courtyard/patio at the back which it shares with the restaurant next door (Regazza - also good). So, that means that there can be a little bit of noise form diners but I don't recall it going on later than about 11pm (and I sleep well anyway !!) Hotel guests have use of the courtyard and the hotel reception let us borrow wine glasses so we could open our own bottle of wine and enjoy a drink in the evening there.
The wifi was good and there was enough bandwidth for me to stream a live Rugby Union match and for us to watch Strictly Come Dancing.
By far the most outstanding aspect of this hotel for me was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff/managers. Shana was outstandingly helpful giving us a great tip to get down to the Ferry Building on our first (Saturday) morning to experience the Farmer's Market. She was also extremely helpful throughout our whole stay on a range of things including where to drive on the day we hired a car.
It was very easy to get to/from the city centre with the number 71 bus just round the corner - this takes you either right down to the Ferry Building (passing Union Square if you want to go there too) and in the other direction it will take you out to the enormous beach on the Pacific Coast and passes Golden Gate Park. It only costs $2 and you can ride as long as you like on as many buses/trams as you like during the 2.5 - 3 hour duration of the ticket(s).
So, like any budget hotel there are some things that some people won't like (but some people are NEVER happy !!) but overall I thought it was a fabulous friendly hotel in a fabulous authentic location.

Room Tip: Room 115 is the largest I think - plenty of space and a large sofa too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevilleEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#153 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#110 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Kimpton Buchanan
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 73 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Hotel

Property: The Metro Hotel
Address: 319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117-2208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming family-run boutique hotel that embodies the spirit of San Francisco focusing on human kindness, connection & simple pleasures. Our hotel is geographically in the center of San Francisco, historically known as the Western Addition the neighborhood is now referred to as Nopa (North of the Panhandle) which is near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, petite rooms ranging from a full bed, queen bed to rooms with multiple beds, private updated bathrooms and triple pane windows. The Metro Hotel has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & vibrant city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing