We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tour”

Golden Gate Bridge Tours
Ranked #107 of 289 Tours in San Francisco
Attraction details
2 reviews
“Wonderful tour”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Great tour Nichole was excellent made the tour very entertaining and interesting I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    9
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very entertaining and enjoyable getting to hear real stories associated with the building of the bridge.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

An afternoon week spent. We really enjoyed the very entertaining stories from our guide who made the bridge real with stories of the people involved in the building of the bridge.
Very good that they offered my wife a warn poncho to keep the cool breeze out. Very windy on the bridge. Will definitely bring guests here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 01Badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I took this excellent tour recently (Sat 25th May). The earlier tours were full but we were able to book the 12:30.
We arrived to a hectic car park area with people, cars and buses everywhere, Memorial weekend. We wandered around all of the outdoor exhibits ( cross-section of cable, history of the bridge, etc) then made our way up the hill to start our tour.
There was another couple and us, only 4 and our guide Lisa, almost a private tour. We were kitted out with radio headphones, did a quick soundcheck, and began the tour. Starting at the mini bridge we were told all about the bridge, dimensions, facts and construction difficulties. Even here the headphones were a real boon, allowing us to hear Lisa clearly above the considerable traffic noise.
Soon we were striding along the footpath towards the South Tower. There were several stops on the way with Lisa explaining all about the bridge. Why and how it was built. The stories behind the engineers, designers, constructors and money men who believed in the bridge. And why it's painted International Orange.
Lisa had a great knowledge and obvious enthusiasm and passion for this bridge.
45 minutes passed all too quickly. We were at the South Tower.
As a parting action Lisa encouraged us to "make the bridge move", which we all did with great gusto and sense of achievement. There she left us to wander back at our leisure while she strode off for her next tour.
Wondering how to move the bridge? Just need to take the tour.
I would have no hesitation recommending this tour and all at a bargain price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank senior-tea-leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very Interesting Tour”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We took this walking tour of the Golden Gate Bridge, which was excellent. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the bridge's history and construction. The walking tour took us part of the way across the bridge and then we were able to explore on our own. It was inexpensive and worth every penny to learn about the bridge, instead of just taking pictures in front of it and leaving.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting, Enjoyable, Versatile”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Went on the Golden Gate Bridge tour today, and thought it was great! Nichole, our group guide/leader, was friendly, enthusiastic, and spoke clearly.

You wear headsets on this tour, so it's OK if you cannot see the tour leader - you can hear them talk while taking photos as you walk the breathtaking landmark that is the GG Bridge! The tour lasts 45 minutes and ends when you get to the South Tower. You can walk back right away, or can choose to walk the rest of the bridge... your choice! I like that flexibility and I think it leaves a lot of options for visitors.

I've lived in SF for years, and have been across the GGB many times on car and bike, but today I learned a lot of history and trivia that I wouldn't have otherwise known. I really enjoyed and would recommend this tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CassidyCarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Gate Bridge Tours also viewed

 
Mill Valley, Marin County
 

Been to Golden Gate Bridge Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing