We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, Reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaside Inn
Ranked #12 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I needed a hotel for just one night, prior to joining a tour. The tour hotel would not negotiate a reasonable price, so we searched the internet and found the Seaside Inn. While not a 5 star hotel, we did find it very clean and comfortable at a reasonable price. The staff were friendly and helpful and arranged for us to get a taxi the next morning. A basic, but free, continental breakfast is available in the lobby. They did serve Keurig Coffee, though, which was very good.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Seaside Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearsfan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    151
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
65
159
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at the Seaside Inn for two nights at the end of a tour around the state. Location was good for winding down the trip being in walking distance (20mins) to Fishermans Wharf and the Interesting bits of Lombard St. The room was extremely clean and comfortable without being luxurious. Staff were efficient and very helpful when needed. Overall a good motel for a short stay. However, probably not the best location for exploring the city via public transport also be aware that there is limited parking, so be sure to turn up early on check in day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This motel may be small in size, but when most of the time is spent sight-seeing, this motel was a great place to come home to. The rooms very clean and the property is well-kept. The reception staff was super friendly and helpful. The location of this motel was fantastic, because of its close proximity to public transportation, plus it was easy to walk to many attractions (even for two people in their seventies). Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruhapb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

great place to stay for a great price, comfy beds, friendly staff, easy walk down to fishermans wharf, was clean and tidy, free coffee, danish, donuts and fruit for breakfast, thanks for a great stay, would stay again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We read the reviews, and booked this room based on value and location. From the outside, the hotel looks quaint. However, there was the lack of parking. We basically had to park in a "no parking zone" within the property. I guess that's not a problem, unless you are handicapped.
When we entered the room, the first thing we noted was, a double size bed with no room on the left or right. We really didn't have a place to store our luggage, except for the small storage area within the closet so we packed everything there.
When we pulled the covers back, the sheet that was on the bed looks like a top sheet, and not a fitted sheet made for the mattress. The sheet that was covering the mattress had holes in it and what appeared to be ink stains.
One of the things I did appreciate was that it had a walk in shower, and not the customary tub/shower combo.
The hotel is close to dining, and if you want to walk Chestnut Street and see all the neat little shops and clothing stores and restaurants, it's about a couple blocks from that.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Troy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location for exploring some of the old and interesting housing areas of SF. Eg Russian Hill, Telegraph Hill and Pacific Heights. It is also within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf. 'Muni' buses stop nearby, giving public transport access to Golden Gate Bridge and Downtown.
Hotel room are quite spacious and well-appointed, clean and recently refurbished.The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is simple but adequate.
The only down-side is the location on busy Lombard Street. Unfortunately our room fronted onto the street and we found it very noisy.
Highly recommended, but DO try to get a room back from the street.

Room Tip: Specify that you want a room back from Lombard Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I arrived at this hotel after reading many good reviews, and they were fairly accurate. The location of the hotel is close to the Palace of Fine Arts, and Fishermans Wharf, both walkable or a short bus ride away. The area it is in is fairly respectable and the vagrant issue is not a problem at all here, I didn't see any.

The rooms are a good size and come with a microwave, fridge, and HBO on a good sized tv. The beds are very comfortable and the shower area very clean; the soap given is really good too.

The staff are very respectful, helpful, and polite. I left something hidden in my room of some value, I didn't notice until about 6 hours after leaving, but thankfully housekeeping had found it and kept it safe! I feel that the staff are very trustworthy here, more that can be said for other hotels!

Parking could be an issue if the hotel is full, so get there early and secure you're spot!

A really good place to set up a base for visiting Fisherman's Wharf and north SF.

Room Tip: Definitely away for the road, but upstairs or downstairs isn't and issue. Downstairs has bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenosapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#28 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#36 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#86 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 1750 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing