We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great with a pint”

Rosamunde Sausage Grill
Ranked #863 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Grill, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Haight-Ashbury
Description: An internationally known, legendary destination in San Francisco, the Haight is the birthplace of Rosamunde Sausage Grill in 1998. Our Haight Street location sits next door to Toronado beer bar, the single most important Bar for the craft beer movement, propelling SF to the forefront in the early days of the '80s. Our sausages are made to feed the craft beer drinker. Locals and tourists alike order their sausage and enjoy them next door at the bar! And have you tried Burger Tuesday?
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great with a pint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Was at Toronodo enjoying a few tasty beverages when the small of food was heavy in the air. We noticed everyone had these yellow plates so we headed next door to see what it was.

Tasty, tasty sausage! This stuff goes so good with a beer! A little on the spicy side but the onions and peppers balance that nicely.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“You could hardly hear the sausages over the noise!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The food and beer were actually very good. But the music was just a bit too loud. It made it very hard to hear anybody. The bench seating can be cool or annoying, depending on whether you want to meet people or not. We had to keep defending our turf as we had a few more people arriving. Service at the bar was friendly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbobke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
445 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“German sausages in the Mission District!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Hungry and thirsty during an interesting walk through the Mission District we were happy to come on Rosamunde. Authentic Germany style sausages and a variety of draft beers met our needs! The Nurenberger were spot-on, and the Weisswurst, although not served in a traditional steamed form, was nevertheless excellent in a grilled form. Very informal, with both indoor and outdoor seating.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“what's not to like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

great sausage sandwiches, great beer, nowhere near as crowded as Toronado in the Haight. Picnic tables, great food, go across the street to Mission Pies for dessert.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sanjoser60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
253 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Whoa..if you are looking for a quick, delicious snack or very casual meal you can't go wrong here! Located practically next to the Mission Street BART in a gritty section of the Mission District, it is well worth a visit. Interesting and flavorful sausages served on a crusty French roll with great toppings (you get a choice of 2 toppings) & wonderful mustards. The smokey Hungarian is a good choice, but the duck & fig got raves also. Other savory combos make it a given that i will need to return. A huge selection of beers. Can get crowded so go on an off time to get seating. In good weather outdoor seating is an option.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie50Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosamunde Sausage Grill also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Rosamunde Sausage Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing