We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food we've had in US”

Rosamunde Sausage Grill
Ranked #884 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: German, Polish, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Haight-Ashbury
Description: An internationally known, legendary destination in San Francisco, the Haight is the birthplace of Rosamunde Sausage Grill in 1998. Our Haight Street location sits next door to Toronado beer bar, the single most important Bar for the craft beer movement, propelling SF to the forefront in the early days of the '80s. Our sausages are made to feed the craft beer drinker. Locals and tourists alike order their sausage and enjoy them next door at the bar! And have you tried Burger Tuesday?
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food we've had in US”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

This was without a doubt me and my partners favourite food we had in the US. 100% best hot dog we've ever had! I would recommend anyone to go here. The street it's on is quite cool to walk around anyway!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeidiRochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good sausages”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A number of house made sausages. Chose the one, or 2, that you want, with or without bun, grab a draft and then a chair on the street side patio. When your number is called, pick it up, add your condiments, and enjoy! Good quality. Fair price. Good atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank food_reviewer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Various Sausage Options”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Takeaway with a good selection of interesting large sausages and toppings made up as hot dogs. There is a small amount of seating within the unit so you can eat inside. The sausages we ordered were very tasty and enough for our evening meal. I would recommend if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emily2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bit too spicy.”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I love sausages and sausage sandwiches. I had the lamb sausage and I would have enjoyed my better but it was too spicy. I asked how spicy before I ordered it, and the cook/cashier said it was "a bit spicy." I can handle med-med hot, but these were almost too hot to eat the entire sandwich. I also ordered onions and peppers on my sandwich. It was not such a great idea to order the peppers since the peppers were spicy serrano with ribs and seeds included. Needless to say I was keeping my mouth cooled off instead of enjoying the sausage. My husband ordered the like-seasoned chicken sausage and felt the same as I did. I would go back, but definitely order the milder choices. You have to have a tough mouth to handle the spicy option. The German style potato salad was great and a welcome accompaniment to the spiciness of the sausage.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith95008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great with a pint”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Was at Toronodo enjoying a few tasty beverages when the small of food was heavy in the air. We noticed everyone had these yellow plates so we headed next door to see what it was.

Tasty, tasty sausage! This stuff goes so good with a beer! A little on the spicy side but the onions and peppers balance that nicely.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosamunde Sausage Grill also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Rosamunde Sausage Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing