We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood Type of Place”
Review of Florio

Florio
Reserve with OpenTable
Florio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,172 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$31 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Pine & Bush
Transit: Muni: #22 Fillmore, #1 California, #3 Jackson, #38 Geary
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Type of Place”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Florio has been on Fillmore for years, and consistently draws locals and tourists. Our first visit was a couple years ago, and this time also did not disappoint. The host was welcoming, the bar already booming at 6 p.m., and service was not intrusive.
We began with drinks - as they were featuring rose wines, I tried a delicious Spanish rose and my husband had a very good martini, accompanied by herb-toasted almonds and green olives. Our entrees of albacore tuna, English peas, and Meyer lemon were perfectly cooked and delicious.
We had a leisurely meal with no pressure to leave. A place to return to.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisABeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best in San Francisco”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I cannot speak too highly of Florio on Fillmore in SF. I have gone there every year for over ten years and never been disappointed. John Castellano and his staff are prompt and friendly, even on bustling, busy nights. Dinners are not cheap but always delicious. Portion sizes are small enough that diners can indulge in cocktail, appetizer, entree, and dessert without feeling stuffed. During my June visit, I had the house cocktail, a small plate of pickled vegetables, and halibut with fennel, grapefruit, and olives. For dessert, I had sweet corn gelato with huckleberry sauce. With all the interesting flavors, I was satisfied without feeling I had eaten too much. The restaurant has the feel of a neighborhood bistro, quaint and cozy. If you live in or visit San Francisco, don't miss this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WDemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco,ca
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“RELUCTANT.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Because this restaurant is in my neighborhood, I'm going to be less generous in my review so I can continue to get a reservation at a decent hour..
What can I say: The place is quaint and has that Parisian Bistro feel, inviting for a warm dinner and a well executed cool cocktail. Not everything is perfect, our server had the personality of Iceberg lettuce, but the food was what Vodka is to caviar...Whatever that means...
If you are craving a hamburger, confit de canard or the perfect pomme frites, they can be found here on Fillmore St. Beware though, the menu can drastically change and what you were so yearning for might no longer be. No worries, the perfectly roasted chicken is always there for you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisethethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“a little fowl”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Decor wise not a bad place with a friendly welcome. We ordered chicken which was undercooked and to be fair were offered a replacement meal but I have an aversion to complaining and then recieving another offering from the chef after a previous experience of food poisoning. The waitress was really good and our meals were removed from the bill. I'm sure that this is not a regular occurence and am loathed to give a poor review but my experience was not good for this restaurant

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good, but not quite great”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Florio has expanded their menu since the last time we visited and I appreciated the wider range of choices. I had the starter of burrata and prosciutto with greens which was quite good followed by a pasta special that had black truffles on it. The food is consistently good, and the service very good, but if falls just shy of being very good. We had guests and they enjoyed the ambiance and the dishes they ordered.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florio also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Florio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing