We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Asian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The House

The House
Ranked #55 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Asian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

The restaurant is small, loud and cramped - but we knew that before we went. We loved the atmosphere, even if it was loud - it was lively. Food was very good. Service average.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    146
    31
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Whenever I have an excuse to take someone here I do! I love this place. I've read some reviews about it being in a "seedy" part of town and those people are definitely not from SF. North beach is one of the cooler parts of town. If you have a chance to eat here I highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SF8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice asian food experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

If you like the asian cuisine, this is a good option for a nice dinner! The restaurant is small but the food is great; the sea bass is excellent and the sashimi tuna is delicious! The atmosphere is not special, but acceptable, the food is great and the service is good. Not too expensive and absolutely worth the money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crimillina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
353 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 952 helpful votes
“Truly a Homerun or strikeout within 5 days :-(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Business group had an excellent meal the first time, great service overall experience. We decided to bring more folks as we pumped up the House... What a massive mistake, the second trip was anything but a reflection of our previous experience. Our server was rude, short, had very little knowledge of the meal contents, no wine knowledge, and made teh experience unpleasant. It's located in aseedy neck of San Fran, and word to the wise, if you expect nothing, you can only be surprised.
On a scale of
1,2,3 being sustenance only, commercial norm and
4,5,6,7 being lower to upper "traditional anywhere fare to better than avg" food and
8,9,10 being " creative delectable artisanal exceptional " highest quality;
Our group gives The House a 3.0 and that's only having had a positive previous meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodSnobsFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good Asian-fusion style, cramped and loud inside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I read excellent reviews of this restaurant and took my wife there for her birthday while we were traveling in San Fran. She was not happy with the location (around the corner from a strip club) and on a dark corner with a view of a building under construction. Inside, the tables were too close together for my tastes, and it was extremely loud from everyone's conversation. The menu is small but full of different meals than you normally would find, particularly seafood. We started with a soft-shelled crab tempura. It was mostly breading, very little meat. My wife got a seafood risotto and I got a special-of-the-day white fish. I can't remember the exact kind it was, but it was very tasty and perfectly cooked. The portions are small, but not crazy small. I probably wouldn't eat here again, but maybe we were just there on a bad night.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MyMagicalPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The House also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing