We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of Helmand Palace

Helmand Palace
Ranked #406 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Union
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Simmer down the palace expectations, Helmand is at best average with food - their sweet pumpkin was an unexpected delicious surprise; the other entrees were average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank humming-rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    37
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places to dine in SF”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best places my wife and I dined at during our stay at SF. The food was great, the service was brilliant and we loved the decor at the restaurant. Furthermore, it was very reasonable for its location, standard of service and food quality. High recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shashank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food for delivery”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The restaurant is halal and delivers. The chicken kabobs came with spinach and rice and was tasty. My wife ordered the rice and lamb dish (Qabelee) which was also pretty good. We did order the Aushak and thought it was kind of weird. At other Afghan restaurants, it is usually dumping covered in meat and yogurt sauce, but this restaurant gave spaghetti with meat sauce and yogurt sauce. The aushak was not really good. Overall this restaurant is great because they deliver food even pretty late at night. We ordered food around 9:30 - 10pm, and the food arrived in about 45 minutes. They also gave some afghan bread with our order.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodrunner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Good food,and the Aghan cuisine is interesting as a discovery, but mediocre decoration . Good and kind service by the team

Helpful?
Thank Ilovefamiliytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“What a delight!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Afghan cuisine is delicious. There are so many choices for carnivores and vegetarians. There is an array of salads and starters to choose from. We chose the salad with chickpeas and cilantro and were not disappointed. We were also served a large basket of warm, delicious flatbread. For the main course, I chose the vegetarian special and it had vegetables galore: a large helping of melt-in-your-mouth spinach, perfectly cooked okra, eggplant that was like a parmigiana and pumpkin that was as sweet as I've ever had. The rice was perfectly cooked with lots of spices. The tea selections also have spices. The Turkish coffee was thick and spicy. The atmosphere is in keeping with the food; large paintings of Afghan bread and spices. Courteous waiter. Clean restrooms. Perfect dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helmand Palace also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Helmand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing