We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Helmand Palace

Helmand Palace
Ranked #482 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Afghani, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Union
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Yummy meal with real taste. We really enjoyed our meal. Lamb was v tasty and tender, pumpkin entree melted. Recommend a visit if you are in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 30Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    35
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Simmer down the palace expectations, Helmand is at best average with food - their sweet pumpkin was an unexpected delicious surprise; the other entrees were average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank humming-rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places to dine in SF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best places my wife and I dined at during our stay at SF. The food was great, the service was brilliant and we loved the decor at the restaurant. Furthermore, it was very reasonable for its location, standard of service and food quality. High recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shashank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food for delivery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The restaurant is halal and delivers. The chicken kabobs came with spinach and rice and was tasty. My wife ordered the rice and lamb dish (Qabelee) which was also pretty good. We did order the Aushak and thought it was kind of weird. At other Afghan restaurants, it is usually dumping covered in meat and yogurt sauce, but this restaurant gave spaghetti with meat sauce and yogurt sauce. The aushak was not really good. Overall this restaurant is great because they deliver food even pretty late at night. We ordered food around 9:30 - 10pm, and the food arrived in about 45 minutes. They also gave some afghan bread with our order.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodrunner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Good food,and the Aghan cuisine is interesting as a discovery, but mediocre decoration . Good and kind service by the team

Helpful?
Thank Ilovefamiliytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helmand Palace also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Helmand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing