We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the wait for table” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Osteria del Forno

L'Osteria del Forno
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Osteria del Forno is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #337 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: As our name indicate, most of the food is cooked in the oven, like the best thin-crust pizza in town, thinly sliced pork loin roasted in milk, penne with meat sauce... And our extraordinary focaccia! We only cook fresh produce for 25 years!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait for table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is my favorite Italian resturant in North Beach because it taste and feels like your in Rome. The staff if great and the food has always wonderful. It's the real deal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank richardleontonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    88
    31
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect thin based pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The thin based pizzas were perfect - the bases were the right thickness and had a lovely crunch to them without being burnt and the toppings were delicious with a tangy tomato base which was to die for. The red wine selection was excellent. The ambience just right for an evenings meal. Location excellent for an Italian in North beach. A great pick out of an overwhelming selections in 'little Italy'.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Certainly on the top list of my favorite Italian restaurants now”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Pizzas are wonderful! The special of the day should not be missed. We had a ravioli with burrata cheese in a homemade sauce, magnificent.
Some lovely wines to choose from, my son found a favorite that he enjoyed while in Italy.
It is small, and is CASH only.
Very worth while!
Buon appetito

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jl-ontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food served by a no-nonsense staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The "Margherita Regina" pizza alone is worth a trip to this place. Also the Tiramisu is the best I have ever had. The staff puts up a gruff exterior but are great once they warm up to you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harsh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice little place in the heart of North Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Liked the food (not health food) and the quality of service. Very small place with maybe a dozen tables. However, the prices are very low (but cash only). Wife and I split everything -- bottle of prosecco, charcuterie tray, caprese salad and tiramisu.

BTW, as a tiramisu afficianado, this was some of the best tiramisu i have ever had. the ladyfingers were soaked perfectly in espresso -- so it had just the right degree of coffee flavoring.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Osteria del Forno also viewed

 

Been to L'Osteria del Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing