We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good indian food”
Review of Chaat Cafe

Chaat Cafe
Ranked #1,767 of 5,715 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
Neighbourhood: SoMa
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: SoMa
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good indian food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

entry experience 4 out of 5,
,Location 4 out of 5,
,Music 4 out of 5,
,Ambience 4 out of 5,
,Food 4 out of 5,
,Drinks 4 out of 5,
,service 4 out of 5,
,People around 4 out of 5,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

This was my first time having Indian food. The Butter Chicken was unbelievably flavorful. I will be back. Definitely recommend having your meal with the house Naan bred.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attention Indian Food Lovers - this is a winner!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We've eaten Indian food all over the country (and some of the best in London) and discovered this local spot a few blocks from our hotel in SOMA (San Francisco) and what a great surprise.

A huge menu of Indian "chaat" dishes and classic favorites. The portions were fantastic, everything was fresh and perfectly spiced. The appetizers are huge (enough to share), we had the aloo chaat and pakoras - and the delicious salmon tandoor.

If you arrive by 6PM (I think only on weekdays, but check) you'll get those yummy appetizers and a great selections of draft beers (I had Kingfisher, hubby had a great IPA) for half-price. Clearly one of the tastiest and well-priced Indian meals we've ever had.

Also, the servers were really friendly and helpful.

A winner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank la811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food Variety”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had dinner and lunch at this place for 2 consecutive days and I should say the quality and variety offered at this place is really great. Good seating space, very good Indian ambiance with Bollywood songs being played. You will have almost every menu from India.
Chaats, Briyani, Pav bhaji, Indian Thali to name a few.
Rates are quiet comparative and lot of options in veg and non veg.
Restaurant staff was very friendly and polished.
Would recommend to all my friends to go there if visiting SFO downtown.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolvaibhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Desi Wraps are awesome”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I am typically the only white guy in the place, but I often have cravings for their Desi Chicken Wrap with Spicy Potato Salad. Really great in my opinion and for the price of $6.59 it beats the heck out of a sub sandwhich or a burger. Don't like the spice try a Chicken Wrap with the cucumber salad. Some great menu options beyond the wraps too for those who are more familiar with Chaat. I am a beginner and haven't ventured much into the bulk of their menu, but what I've seen come out of the kitchen looks superb. The have draft Indian Beer too. Try a Kingfisher.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrainSnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaat Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Chaat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing