We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in cool diner - good gluten free”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fog City

Fog City
Reserve with OpenTable
Fog City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #400 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Muni F line located directly across from the restaurant on The Embarcadero. The Muni 10 line stops at Sansome and Greenwich.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food in cool diner - good gluten free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Much better than you're average diner food. I had the clams which were delicious as was everybody else's choices. Lovely waitress who was totally up to speed on all gluten free possibilities.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    176
    63
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
385 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great High Concept Diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Sleek, modern diner that serves food that is well thought out and is a cut above of the old diners. It is a beautiful space and always a lot of fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank laser20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Got MILK PUNCHED!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a great place to eat in a town that is full of great places to eat! I started out with their famous Milk Punch cocktail which blends brandy, rum, with lemon and spices and some clarified milk. I normally do not order drinks like that from the menu being a straight Titos/soda kind of guy but that one sounded interesting. Glad I did because it was really done well.

Crab cakes were fantastic as expected and the pork chop was very good. Nothing to special there but it was nicely prepared and hit the spot. My favorite course had to be the french onion soup, MAN WAS THAT GOOD. I eat that dish a lot and it was one of the best I have ever had.

Great atmosphere and the service was very good as well. A little loud so be aware of that but nothing at all that would keep me from returning. All in all this was a terrific experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm27839
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I took some colleagues out to dinner here and was so impressed with the food. We had several appetizers all of which were delicious. Would definitely recommend the calamari- such a good dish. Then the mains came and those were very good. Though not as memorable as the apps though. The best part though may have been the dessert. You must try the doughnuts. They are amazing!

Our server was really nice also. The prices though were a little steep for what you got.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rm27839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Non-Dinerish Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal here on our recent dinner in SF. This is one of my go-to spots when touring people around the city. It's Wharf close and the dinner time parking is easy. We had a terrific grilled calamari appetizer. I had the best ever (and I am a steak LOVER) rib-eye cooked to perfection. My daughter had the special, a wonderful grilled halibut with vegies. Another friend had the kale salad and mac and cheese small bites both of which she raved about. Last friend had the clams in a delicious broth. Best meal of the trip! Service was excellent, too!

Helpful?
Thank MABOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fog City also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fog City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing