We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Indian cuisine”
Review of Mehfil Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

Mehfil Indian Cuisine
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: SoMa
Hitchin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“True Indian cuisine”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Visited this restaurant twice in one week with friends because the food is excellent. The lamb dishes are moist and very tender with a variety of sauces. I particularly enjoyed the dopiaza. For starters the samosas were outstanding, probably the best I have even tasted and as we come from Britain we are used to good Indian food. Prices were very reasonable and service prompt and not in any way pushy.

The only thing that lets the restaurant down is the fact that it looks more like a diner than a restaurant. An upgrade of the decor and fittings would help.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meeHitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Spend an enjoyable eating excursion”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

4 of us went to Mehfil 2 days ago. We had all been there 5 years ago and had kept their card. It was a wonderful memory AND it now has created more wonderful memories. The food and service and attentiveness is absolutely OUTSTANDING!!!!
We started off the meal by sharing 2 orders of the best Samosas we have ever, ever had. ($3.95 each portion for 2) and Vege Pakora (1 portion fed the 4 of us--$4.50). We had two orders of the Korma-E-Goshi (lamb cubes cooked in a creamy sauce of almonds, cashews, pistachios, coconut, saffron and spices--need I say more?? YUM!! One of us ordered the Lamb-DO-Piyaza (lamb cubes cooked with onions.mangos, ginger and garlic)-this was rated with another OUTSTANDING. Our other friend ordered the Gosht Rumwala (lamb cubes cooked in a curry base of garlic, ginger, onions and a hint of rum). He thought this was terrific and after I tasted it--I agree!!!TERRIFIC. We had one order of Naan Bread which was enough for all of us. We had a bottle of wine and the entire bill with tip came $52 per couple.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Yummy at a low cost. I've eaten here twice this week. First time, we had samosa, naan, raita, sag paneer and avival with rice and chai tea. It was fantastic - lots of food at a low price. Couldn't eat it all. Second time, I reduce my order - still yummy. Plus, you can watch the production - the oven for the naan, etc. Second time, we ordered a dahl dish and a channa/paneer dish with rice. Again - great dishes at a low price. Love it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prahinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty bland”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Went here on a Thursday evening in October.
The food was ok but have had a lot better.
It is certainly good value for money as it is pretty cheap - but so are the portion sizes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkDReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frederick, maryland
Level 6 Contributor
700 reviews
441 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Had the paneer pakora for openers; smothered with the delicious spicy sauces, this was good. Had Fish Tikka Masala served over a nice basmati rice for the entree - asked for spicy but it was a bit tame; very nice large slab of salmon. Scooped it with garlic naan. This place was authentic and delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mehfil Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing