We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan sushi!”
Review of Minako Organic Japanese Cuisine - CLOSED

Minako Organic Japanese Cuisine
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Neighbourhood: Mission District
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Mission District
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vegan sushi!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place doesn't seem like much on the inside, but the food is definitely worth it. Keep in mind things work slightly differently here - they only have a few menus so even if you do get a seat right away you have to wait until they bring you a menu. Then another menu. Then another menu until you have one for your whole party. Even if you're ready to order from just one menu you still have to wait and then you'll wait again for the specials board filled post it notes.

Still, once you get past the somewhat strange set up the food is delicious. The 4 of us shared the vegetable gyoza, the fried mushroom appetizer special, the avocado tempura maki, the vegetable eel maki, the futo maki, and the special eggplant maki. Out of all of it the eel maki and the eggplant maki were by far the best with an interesting flavor I've never experienced anywhere else. The futo maki was my least favorite and the crisp layer of fried oil/batter on top of the gyoza was a bit strange. Still, overall the food was really good and they definitely had the largest selection of vegan sushi options I've ever seen. Keep in mind it's pricey though - to add a salad and miso soup to your meal costs $15. All in all definitely worth a stop!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heathbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This Restaurant”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It is a real hole in the wall so don't go for the atmosphere (unless you enjoy hearing off-key gospel music from the church that shares one of their walls) but Minako offers amazing food with love and attention in every bite. Run by a mother and daughter team, this has to be some of the most interesting Japanese food I've had the pleasure of eating. Much more than your traditional sushi restaurant. While a friend who lives in the neighborhood offered some recommendations, I let the owner recommend several dishes and we weren't disappointed. Amazing depth in every bite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCF3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellency in a very down to earth way”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just visiting from Europe and calling on a short notice Judy was very passionate about everything. the menue, the specials of the day, the various kinds of tea, everything.

she helped us a lot to decide on our menue and neber was shy to present additional options. the food was simply outstanding and only topped by the fried corn. every ingredient has their story and why it is being used.

a must, not only in the mission

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christoph1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Domo Arigato M......ta to Daughter and Mother Team”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

When had to wait 30 minutes, but well worth.
A Minako Dragon roll, a fish and noodles,
as the Parent's daughter ordered in consultation with owner,
i did not bother to ask what we had ordered, sat back,
savoured the flavours and presentations.
After the meal, we had subtle Tofu dessert that rounded off a meal that reminded me of previous visits to Japan,
Discovered bottles of Pickled Plums at the back, and on daughter's insistence, we met the Chef Mother and her Sous chef, also to discover that she was brought out of retirement to get involved with Minako, She had three eateries in Kyoto,
Definitely recommend this small friendly non AYCE dining room

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, MV
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever, fresh ingredients, great cooking and wonderfully helpful, attentive owner.”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Small, somewhat idiosyncratic restaurant in Mission whose food is fabulous anddefinit ely worth the wait. Minako (Judy) the owner is friendly, charming and simply wonderful. We have never had better sushi anywhere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MVSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minako Organic Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing