We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fly Trap

Fly Trap
Reserve with OpenTable
Fly Trap is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #591 of 5,643 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: SoMa
Cross street: between 2nd and 3rd
Description: Melding the modern and the classic, Hoss Zare brings vibrant Mediterranean flavors to the historic space that once housed San Francisco institution, The Fly Trap. Zare's bistro-stye menu is inspired by San Francisco's local markets and the traditions of Spain, Greece, Italy and Persia. At Zare at Fly Trap, guests can dine casually at the communal dining tables or enjoy the elegant main dining area. An artisan cocktail list, innovative desserts, eclectic wine list and a warm, bustling sense of hospitality appeal to the neighborhood and out-of-town guests. Zare at Fly Trap is located in the South of Market area, just 2 blocks from the Moscone Center. Now serving casual lunch for eat-in or takeout.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This south-of-Market restaurant is a mecca of wonderful Mediterranean food. We were looking for a closer and less expensive alternative to Aziza and found it at Fly Trap. In our enthusiasm, we ordered the Trio of Hummus, Smoked Trout, and Pistachio Meatballs as starters. Each dish was flavorful, creatively presented, and just downright delicious. Because the amount of food served was generous, we shared a seafood stew-like main course along with the crispy Brussels Sprouts. Again, we were not disappointed. The seafood tasted fresh, was delicious, and was served in a delicately spiced tomato sauce. The Brussels Sprouts were indeed crispy and served with a light yogurt dressing that complimented the dish. A great wine selection, reasonably priced meal, prompt service, pleasant wait staff, and excellent food made for a delightful evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
177 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Offensive group tip policy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Hosted a work dinner at this restaurant. Very nice food, nice atmosphere. But the restaurant added a 22% tip to the bill, which came to USD 440 just for the tip. I usually expect 18% tip to be added, have seen 20% on occasion. But 22% is too much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bone marrow starter unique and a must have!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Of the starter dishes we tried, the bone marrow dish stood out. Creamy, delicious especially when paired with the slightly sweet preserve on toast, the combination is rich and flavorful. We also liked the trio of hummus as the flavors were fresh and well balanced, much better than any of the hummus we ca buy from stores. For entres, I liked the short rib best, followed by the black cod which flakes off easily, on top of a bed of vegetables that provided an excellent contrast to the course. The lamb sirloin is juicy, tender and delicious while the seafood cous cous also scored high with the family. For dessert, we tried the goat cheesecake which you will need to like goat cheese to enjoy (not my favorite), while the cucumber panacotta is our favorite overall.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Maybe it was one of the most unique dining experiences I ever had. It has a beautiful ambiance and the food is fantastic great fusion Persian food. The service was top notch and the restaurant atmosphere very nice. Great selection of american bourbons whiskey. Overall I do highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank La_Bala_de_Plata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent Comfort Food, Great Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellent comfort food with a Mediterranean flavor. My wife had the Cacciucco (fish stew served over Pearl Couscous) and thought it was excellent. I had the Braised Lamb which was also excellent; a lamb ragu with small potatoes and chick peas. The turmeric and lime in the dish provided an interesting and zesty addition to the flavor of the ragu. Initially I thought the portions were a little small but quickly realized that there was more than a sufficiency of the ragu. We shared a side dish of crispy brussels sprouts, also extremely tasty with an interesting season that I cannot now remember.

I started with a glass of Verdicchio, very good though nothing notable about it. The red wine however was very different. It was called "Forlorn" (although that isn't very descriptive or helpful in identifying it precisely) and I think it is from a small winery in Napa. It was very unusual, with a strong fruit flavor and quite sweet, almost a desert wine. Clearly the restaurant has had customers balking at the wine as the server insisted I try it before committing myself. While I wouldn't enjoy simply sipping the wine it actually paired extremely well with the lamb, the seethes nicely offsetting the spiciness of the meat.

The service and server were both excellent, the hostess and server were friendly and efficient. The restaurant itself is not particularly large and is a little noisy but it has a friendly, bustling ambience. The total bill for two glasses of wine, the fish, lamb, brussels sprouts and a coffee (excellent) was $96.55, including tax and before tip. They don't levy a "Healthy San Francisco" surcharge.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiburonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fly Trap also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fly Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing