We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inventive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blowfish Sushi To Die For

Blowfish Sushi To Die For
Reserve with OpenTable
Blowfish Sushi To Die For is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #675 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Mission District
Cross street: 19th & 20th
Transit: Bus #27 stops at Bryant and 20th. Bus #22 & #33 stops at Bryant and 16th.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Inventive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I wish I had asked our waitress her name because she deserves a shout-out. Service was top notch and she had recommendations for sake and sushi that all hit the spot. The cuts of fish could have been bigger and certainly are at other SF places. But everything was fresh. My only complaint is that the restaurant is really, really cold. Even my boyfriend who's a big guy, kept his coat on the whole time as did other diners. It was uncomfortable enough that I wouldn't go back until I knew it was a warm day outside!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    13
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Best japanese sushi and sashimi ever. lovely dishes, nice place, cozy and trendy. Do not miss the Pyramid Tartare or the Popcorn Prawns!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IspettoreClouseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not worth dying for....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Definitely disappointed in our dining experience. The sashimi was not fresh & overall quality was lacking

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OMG Where do I start?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Japanese Mexican Fusion? Filet minion? Sushi. Saki/Margarita

Secret location, not in Japan town or SF metro. Want your own secret place? This is it,

Delicious, outrageous, hidden. Zero parking, reasonable.

Outrageous. Eclectic. Packed. Clean. Impress a client/date.

Who are all these people? How did I find this place? How did they? Small.

MUST GO BACK.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lacostaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was nice...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

...but I'm not going back there again. At least not with kids. And not for dinner. The restaurant probably doesn't want the families back there anyway if I am to judge by the lack of highchairs. We were seated late, the food came out in dribs and drabs. And the sonomono salad about broke my heart in its failure to live up to the spiel. The live DJ spun some good tunes and was nice to the kids, which was appreciated.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrishMaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blowfish Sushi To Die For also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Blowfish Sushi To Die For? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing