We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good fresh sushi and sashimi”
Review of Hana Zen - CLOSED

Hana Zen
Price range: US$35 - US$35
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Union Square
Cross street: Ellis St.
Transit: BART, MUNI, Streetcar, Cable car - Powell Station
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good fresh sushi and sashimi”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Came here for the first time and it was good had the lemon-hi cocktail and chirashi sushi which was pretty good and fresh. Had the ginger creme brulee as well
The yakitori was on the menu but they didn't have it that day. It wasn't anything out of the ordinary.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bizman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    62
    21
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive sushi”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went for dinner and thought it was quite expensive given the food quality. It was generally OK but since we just tried the other two Japanese restaurants in the neighborhood, we all thought that we could find similar quality of food with a lot cheaper prices at other restaurants.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DRGPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“delicious stop”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

great sushi and very reasonable portions at this place! the garlic pork yakitori is great (the beef filet one is good but not amazing and has larger chunks of meat -- more than we needed!)

we got 2 specialty rolls, 1 california, and 1 avocado, and it was more than enough food for the 2 of us, and delicious!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great option at Pier 39.”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

So many long lines at all of the restaurants. Walked by Hana Zen and they handed me a coupon. Took a look inside. No line - got seated right away. Beautiful design of restaurant, looks right on the bay. Saw the seals that had separated from the larger group. View of Alcatraz. Service was great. Food was good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fam4ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible Rice”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I ordered sushi rolls and Nigiri. The fish for the Nigiri was good, but the rice was so mushy it made the rice take away the taste of the fish. I have never had rice that was this terrible.

The spicy tuna rolls were also very difficult to eat. The texture of the minced tuna was just strange. Combine that with the crappy tasting rice and it is a big loser.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hana Zen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing