We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sushi experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanraku Japanese Restaurant

Sanraku Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great sushi experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

The sushi here is very fresh and the prices are very reasonable. They also offer a very good variety of sake and japanese beers. If you are in San Francisco and want to eat sushi, this is definitely a place to go!

Helpful?
Thank ArielMariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    286
    64
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well, they've slipped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

For all the hurrahs this sushi place receives, I feel they've slipped from the last time I ate here. The rice used in the sushi was not as carefully prepared (maybe they changed to a cheaper level). The tempura was not as crispy and tasty. They've really come down to satisfying the tourist crowd. Maybe it was a busy Saturday and we ate late. It wasn't the worst food I've had in SF but it sure was the Sankuru I remembered from the last visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you like Sushi, look no further...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had a great meal here, near the heart of Union Square. The rolls were terrific, and the sashimi could not have been fresher. The service also could not have been better, and we were especially impressed by the friendliness of the "chefs", as we ate at the bar. We'd highly recommend Sanraku, but caution: It is very popular and apparently fills quickly. Recommend a reservation if you are able.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrekTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretty quick service, very friendly staff and most important tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Good quality food, authentic tastes, and very friendly staff. we had a pretty quick meal, relative to many other places. The sushi platter was good, miso as expected, and teriyaki chicken meal also very good. Price was reasonable. REcommended for casual, smart casual dinner, with friends or family

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Metcalf-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I love the quiet and calm atmosphere in this restaurant. It was like an oasis in the desert. The servers seemed happy and relaxed. The service was great and even better the sushi was fresh and ranked among the best I have had (and I love sushi and have it often). A very pleasant experience. Great value for money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluesun614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanraku Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sanraku Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing