We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't go here for the view...”

City View Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Financial District
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“You don't go here for the view...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A group of four had Dim Sum there a couple weeks ago, and it was terrific! I can't name the dishes, but all were delicious, nicely served and reasonably priced. The four of ate very well for $70. It's on a side street in China Town, with no view of the City notwithstanding its name. Take a walk down Grant afterwards for a nice time. Restaurant was quite clean and airy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oakvillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    151
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great place to try a variety of dim sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you're looking for a place that has tasty and hot (temperature wise) dim sum, check out this place. We always go there for special occasions and it is always crowded at lunch time so come before 12 Noon. There is a variety of dim sum and their egg tarts, petite baked pork buns and powdered doughnuts are out of this world.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWong55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“nice dim sum place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our guide from City walks recommended this restaurant.
Lovely atmosphere. Many girls walking around w. carts. The sticky rice wrapped in leaf was excellent. We liked several of the baskets we picked
First time I have had dim sum this way. Usually we order it from a menu.
Wanted to go back again during our visit, but unfortunately we didnt have time

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronadebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top Notch Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Living in NYC and having had dim sum in Hong Kong, Sydney & Vancouver...it's safe to say that San Francisco's City View (in Chinatown) is as good as it gets. Carts are constantly wheeled around and new, exotic choices are carried out of the kitchen constantly. The food is fresh and delicious. Try the Peking duck wraps if available.
Each dim sum restaurant I've tried has some items that stand out (the crystal shrimp in Fisherman's Terrace Seafood Restaurant in Aberdeen center, BC is the best) and some that are not to my liking. That's the way it goes. This restaurant is terrific....make reservations...even during the week ...this place is no secret.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dim Sum for out of town friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Always take out of town visitors to this place for Dim Sum. I was never disappointed. Good food. Decent prices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Semyon-Says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City View Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to City View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing