We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable evening!”

Southern Pacific Brewing
Ranked #1,550 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mission District
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unforgettable evening!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

There are certain experiences in your life that will stay with you forever. This past Sunday at Southern Pacific was one of them. In this creative space was a full orchestra and chorus and Handel's Messiah. Scores and crafted beer were passed around-Hells Lager was my favorite-and the acoustics about lifted us all through the roof. Thank goodness I was held down by sage fries, which I could not stop eating. A unique, fantastic evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DadimaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bohemian Summer time”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stopped by Southern Pacific Brewing in October and fall is definitely settling into the city.
Down a short side street with a very nodescript entrance in a chain link fence is the gate to the "patio" of SPB. A half a dozen picnic tables are scattered about the concrete patio and behind those is a big old metal building which use to be a machine shop of sorts. One bar downstairs with some interesting built-in high tables for 8, and another bar with more standard type tables upstairs on the deck, this place has a very industrial feel to it. Good beer, but the pub food is only just ok.
This place would be great on a warm summer/fall day or night, but the local crowd is use to the cool weather of SF, so they fill it up anyway

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Had a great lunch.Atmosphere and service is great. From conversations with the locals, the beer selection and quality is second to none. Will definitely go back for an evening jaunt to get the brews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amacwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great little hang out”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We met friends who live locally for a couple of drinks and I loved the place. Great little hang out. I was able to try some of the local beer. Very popular spot. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Had a really nice time here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthannd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
179 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and Great Drinks”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stopped here for lunch and found the atmosphere to be relaxing and enjoyable. There is a lot of natural light coming in through numerous windows, great breeze allows for a comfortable temperature and the wood and metal decor was clean and cool.
Right off the lady at the bar mentioned that we could sit anywhere, but place orders there at the bar. So it's not traditional service where wait staff comes to your table to take an order. That being said, we didn't find this to be challenging given the lunch crowd was a little small. The food runner was quick to bring food and clean up trash from the tables.
We had the beet salad and black & blue burger. The salad was excellent, with very fresh lettuce, tangy feta and olives along with the beets. Refreshing. The black and blue burger was outstanding. Blue cheese with caramelized onions and a great sauce. Might possibly only be surpassed with bacon had been added! The seasoned fries, garlic and sage, were also excellent. Perfectly cooked, crispy on the outside while soft in the middle, and perfectly seasoned.
We tried all their home beers (flight) and enjoyed the variety. We then tried a taste of a specialty liquor, B&B, we noticed on the shelf. This is a spicy little cognac that could seriously get you in trouble! Altogether a great afternoon for food and drink.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmcareer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Pacific Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Southern Pacific Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing