We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to hang out awhile.”

Southern Pacific Brewing
Ranked #1,468 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mission District
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang out awhile.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Enjoyed the spot. As we just came from another brewery for brunch, I stuck with the nonalcoholic Ginger Beer, but my friends enjoyed the house brewed Extra IPA ad IPA. The food looked and smelled wonderful as the wait staff flew it by as we sat at the spacious bar. The place is located in an industrial area and difficult to find (fortunately we had met up with some locals that took us all there). There is an outdoor area to eat and drink as well, with a young and hip lunch crowd. I imagine it is jamming after dark! Good place to just kick-it and relax in the afternoon with lots of light pouring in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fencegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    4
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Graduation lunch - very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

What impressed me the most was that they had Lanson Brut for $80 - that's inexpensive for a restaurant of this caliber. Beautiful, modern interior, cuisine was somewhat on the "sturdier, heavier" side. Young tech entrepreneur scene.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank xtacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unforgettable evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

There are certain experiences in your life that will stay with you forever. This past Sunday at Southern Pacific was one of them. In this creative space was a full orchestra and chorus and Handel's Messiah. Scores and crafted beer were passed around-Hells Lager was my favorite-and the acoustics about lifted us all through the roof. Thank goodness I was held down by sage fries, which I could not stop eating. A unique, fantastic evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DadimaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bohemian Summer time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stopped by Southern Pacific Brewing in October and fall is definitely settling into the city.
Down a short side street with a very nodescript entrance in a chain link fence is the gate to the "patio" of SPB. A half a dozen picnic tables are scattered about the concrete patio and behind those is a big old metal building which use to be a machine shop of sorts. One bar downstairs with some interesting built-in high tables for 8, and another bar with more standard type tables upstairs on the deck, this place has a very industrial feel to it. Good beer, but the pub food is only just ok.
This place would be great on a warm summer/fall day or night, but the local crowd is use to the cool weather of SF, so they fill it up anyway

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Had a great lunch.Atmosphere and service is great. From conversations with the locals, the beer selection and quality is second to none. Will definitely go back for an evening jaunt to get the brews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amacwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Pacific Brewing also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Southern Pacific Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing