We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastico!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Trattoria

Bella Trattoria
Reserve with OpenTable
Bella Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #484 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: The Richmond
Cross street: 3rd Ave.
Transit: Muni 38 Geary bus
Haslett, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Amazing experience at Bella Trattoria! An art form of perfection - combining fresh food with flavor and passion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Food! A must if you're in the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was the best Italian meal I've ever had in the city. In a neighborhood not necessarily known for it's Italian food, this came as a wonderful surprise. The service from beginning to end was outstanding. They were genuinely friendly, not forced. My Campari Appertivo was delicious and has now made me a fan of the pre-dinner coctail, the tricolore salad was perfectly seasoned, BUT, the best part of the meal was the gnocchi topped with fresh fennel sausage and mozzarella. Everything was homemade. The gnocchi melted in your mouth, the potato was so fresh it exploded in your mouth. The sausage was perfectly seasoned and the mozzarella brought everything perfectly together. I had the orange sorbet for dessert that was really good and refreshing until I found the freezer-burned middle. Everything else was so perfect, that the sorbet didn't turn me off of this place AT ALL.

I guarantee you that you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Gelato ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Bella Trattoria is a classic San Francisco neighborhood Italian restaurant with outstanding food and service. The waiter's dry wit in responding to our comments added to our evening and he steered us to a delicious wine. Best gelato we ever ate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GardenVisitor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Excellent neighborhood restaurant, we came here somewhat at random. The bone marrrow was heavenly...Now that fois gras is banned, I think this is my new favorite fatty thing to spread on toast :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice evening for catchup-visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were into catch-up conversation, not especially food, so the recommend special-of-the day, salads, a split dessert, and a nice bottle of wine hit the spot. A quiet table, service was good, background music a little high. We'd go back although on a weekend might be pretty noisy when full. Parking easy on Tuesday evening. Convenient to Laurel Heights, California Pacific Medical center

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TaktLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bella Trattoria also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bella Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing