We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the food, not the ambiance.”

Tommy's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #897 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$1 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: The Richmond
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“go for the food, not the ambiance.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

great food, good service, fair prices. Love the fajitas, and mole enchiladas. Large portions. Ceviche was excellent- great for sharing

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We like going to this restaurant for lunch. Tommy's is the best Mexican restaurant in our neighborhood. The chips are made on the premises. We both ordered the daily special. The menu did not say that it contained peppers which my wife cannot eat.The waiter took it back and made her another entree and apologized about the oversight on the menu.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We saw this place featured on a TV show for the best margaritas anywhere...”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

On our way to the airport, coming off a week long ski vacation at Lake Tahoe, we stopped at Sotto Mare for a killer seafood lunch, and then here at Tommy's to see what all the margarita hype was about. We weren't disappointed. Our group of 4 sat next to an also newly arriving couple, next to a couple of locals (the bar area only seats 8-10 people). The owner Julio, who took over the place from his father (the place's namesake) after the latter passed away a few years ago, knowing we had come in to check out the place's reputation, rose to the occasion. We told Julio we only had about 20-30 minutes before we had to leave to catch our flight back to DFW. He and his bartender then proceeded to pour us a flight of 6 margarita tastings, while educating us on the different types of tequilas. This was no less nuanced than a wine tasting. We wound up staying about 45 minutes (still made our flight on time), had a blast, got schooled on the ins & outs of tequila and margarita making, and our tab was only about $18/person before tip. These guys know there stuff, which they'll gladly tell you themselves, and are well deserving of their reputation. I know we'll be back next time we're in San Fran. Now we're left wondering what the food is like...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregcarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun Afternoon and Great Tequilas!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The 47th best bar in world by International Drink Magazine. Fabulous tequilas and a gracious owner and tequila ambassador introducing us to wonderful margaritas and exceptional tequila flavors.

Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Great Fun and Good food”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were lucky to have the owner behind the bar. He set us up with drinks tailored to our sensitivities to Tequila and brought out some habanero tequila that was about the hottest booze I ever had. The food was authentic yucatan and added to the Tommy Experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tommy's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tommy's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing