We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sweets are great but the savory is fabulous...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweet Inspirations

Sweet Inspirations
Ranked #47 of 264 Coffee & Tea in San Francisco
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: The Castro
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweets are great but the savory is fabulous...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Sweet Inspirations located in the Castro neighborhood of San Francisco is a local treasure. The bake good are delicious and portions are generous. On my recent visit I decided to try an item from the Breakfast and Brunch menu, Eggs Florentina. Must say, I was pleasantly surprised. This savory dish was a hit out of the park. The presentation on par with the best around. You must give Sweet Inspirations a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cake lovers - don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have included a visit to this excellent cafe/bakery on every trip I have made to San Francisco over the last 20 years and the quality, variety of choice of gateaux and cheesecakes, and giant sized slices has never varied.
It's easy to find opposite Becks Motel on Market Street,if you take the Castro Street streetcar to Church St.
Particularly recommended are the poppyseed gateau and the orange gateau. But if you prefer Black Forest, Red Velvet, or Lemon Coconut, they have them all. The range of cheesecake is equally impressive. But be prepared to need a box to take home with you what you can't manage in one siting.
There are equally good cookies and muffins for the faint hearted....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jfbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“friendly neighborhood place with great goodies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Sweet Inspirations is a little out of the way for the San Francisco tourist. This is a neighborhood place that you have to know about, and we accidentally found it on a quick trip to the city. Now it's a must stop, no matter what. The cakes are absolutely great and the service is warm and friendly. We can't give a specific recommendation for a snack choice, as everything we've had there is great. If you haven't been there yet, you have to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sanjoser60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Humongous cakes and late night cravings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The portions are huge! We came here after dinner to have dessert and I decided to have the hot chocolate and two of my friends had banana cake and Salted Caramel cake and the slices were humongous! They had to split their slices of cake and take half of it home as the cakes are three layers! They said it was good and they also serve Mitchell's ice cream! They have cheesecakes, cakes and cookies! This is a good place to hang out late on Saturday nights.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KWong55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Becks right across the street from here, and that's how we stumbled across it. Best cake I've ever eaten, period. Wonderful staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terryryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Inspirations also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Inspirations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing