We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe/bakery”
Review of Sweet Inspirations

Sweet Inspirations
Ranked #52 of 118 Bakeries in San Francisco
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Neighbourhood: The Castro
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: The Castro
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe/bakery”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We liked the latte and /or tea and croissant we had every morning. The staff were friendly. It wasn't too crowded and not too loud either.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great find while in the Castro”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Had to drop through and show this place some love. I was able to patronize this establishment while waiting for a tour of the Castro to begin. I had their cinnamon roll warmed up which was to die for!! The attendant was very friendly and helpful and it appears the business is minority (black) owned which I always think is great! When my travels bring me back to SF I look forward to stopping by this cozy, local, spot again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank White2tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweets are great but the savory is fabulous...”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Sweet Inspirations located in the Castro neighborhood of San Francisco is a local treasure. The bake good are delicious and portions are generous. On my recent visit I decided to try an item from the Breakfast and Brunch menu, Eggs Florentina. Must say, I was pleasantly surprised. This savory dish was a hit out of the park. The presentation on par with the best around. You must give Sweet Inspirations a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cake lovers - don't miss it”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have included a visit to this excellent cafe/bakery on every trip I have made to San Francisco over the last 20 years and the quality, variety of choice of gateaux and cheesecakes, and giant sized slices has never varied.
It's easy to find opposite Becks Motel on Market Street,if you take the Castro Street streetcar to Church St.
Particularly recommended are the poppyseed gateau and the orange gateau. But if you prefer Black Forest, Red Velvet, or Lemon Coconut, they have them all. The range of cheesecake is equally impressive. But be prepared to need a box to take home with you what you can't manage in one siting.
There are equally good cookies and muffins for the faint hearted....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“friendly neighborhood place with great goodies”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Sweet Inspirations is a little out of the way for the San Francisco tourist. This is a neighborhood place that you have to know about, and we accidentally found it on a quick trip to the city. Now it's a must stop, no matter what. The cakes are absolutely great and the service is warm and friendly. We can't give a specific recommendation for a snack choice, as everything we've had there is great. If you haven't been there yet, you have to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanjoser60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Inspirations also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Inspirations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing