We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Indian food, who knew.”
Review of Aslam's Rasoi

Aslam's Rasoi
Reserve with OpenTable
Aslam's Rasoi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,039 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Mission District
Cross street: 22nd street
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian food, who knew.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We live in the Mission and have been walking past this place for years. But then one day we saw it on Check Please and just happened to wander in that night. The owner was incredibly gracious, for some reason, two of the staff called in sick that night, so the service was a bit slow, but I'd imagine this isn't the usual situation. Fortunately, we were not disappointed to have a nice leisurely romantic meal and linger as our food made it's way from the kitchen. This is not the typical Indian fare, but fine dining. The flavors are phenomenal and they'll make it whatever level of spiciness you like. I think it'd be wasted on small children, but for youngsters that can appreciate fine food, it's fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best takeout!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We looked for something to eat after 10 pm , which was a challenge... Found this one and was so surprised!
We love indian food and we tried several things, all were perfect!
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pnina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ward920
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great service!”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We are Scots, living in Indiana and always on the search for good Indian food. This is it if you are in San Francisco. Set in the Mission district, now a funky place to be, it's on a main strip. We arrived around 6pm and the place was hopping with a very large, loud party sitting in the middle of the restaurant. Asif was our server and was terrific. He ensured we were well taken care of and popped back regularly to check all was ok. Our food took a little longer as they were dealing with the large party but we were in no hurry and were happy to enjoy the atmosphere. We had a mixed appetizer starter. Our meals consisted of two chicken kormas, one tikka masala and one chicken pakora and everything was delicious. More rice came without asking and we left the restaurant stuffed and satisfied. Well worth the trip if you want great Indian food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ward920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This was some of the best Indian Food I have had. The atmosphere was pleasant and the staff very friendly and helpful. Tried another Indian restaurant in San Francisco a few days before, and it did not compare to this. Prices very reasonable. For 3 adults we ordered one appetizer, 2 entrees, rice and Naan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAHLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just wow”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

OK, Asif suggested the Tandoori chicken. I was thinking to order something more adventurous, but somehow it sounded really good. And it was. It was the best I've ever had - moist and flavorful. I got a bonus serving of what was billed as "sauce" but it seems to be saag paneer without the paneer. It was out of this world tasty. Service was with a smile and everyone down to the busboys seemed proud to be serving such fantastic food. Go!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CACatgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aslam's Rasoi also viewed

 

Been to Aslam's Rasoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing