We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Gary Danko

Restaurant Gary Danko
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Gary Danko is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 5,629 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$70 - US$100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Wildomar, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

My husband,I, my sister and her husband celebrated our anniversaries at Gary Dankos. The overall experience was amazing. The food, the service, the staff couldn't have been better. We had an evening and meal we will never forget. A perfect way to celebrate our joint 30th anniversaries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,676
    283
    132
    48
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent.. Enough said!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

There is a reason this restaurant is at the top on Yelp. The service is impeccable, the food is delicious, the decor is fabulous (I mean, even the toilet paper feels top of the line), and I love how I could choose any 5 types of dishes as my menu for the night. My only gripe is that even reserving about one month in advance, I could only get an early or very late dinner. Shows u the extend of their popularity!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Addict4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I tried to book at Restaurant Gary Danko for our trip to San Francisco but the only time they had was at 10:00 PM. I declined but the nice woman I talked to said I could be put on the waiting list for an earlier time or eat at the bar. I tried the waiting list and a spot opened up but I was not close to my phone so they gave it to the next person on the list. I still wanted to go with my mother and treat her to a nice meal so we ended up going and waiting for two seats at the bar. We went at 6:30 and waited maybe 15 minutes then were sat at the bar (which is rather small maybe 10 seats max) The wine list was extensive and I ordered a great Italian Brunello di Montalcino. We then proceeded to order and decided on the 3 courses for $73 each. I ordered Veal Sweetbreads for my starter and they were crunchy outside and creamy inside - perfectly done. My mother had the Lobster Risotto and she loved that. For our main courses she ordered the filet of beef and I had the Duck Breast with figs. For dessert we had the Louisiana butter cake and the chocolate praline parfait. Everything we ate was fantastic. The service at the bar was also great. We talked with both bartenders about the drinks they were mixing and our food and a wonderful experience. I would be seated at the bar any time!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ckjgo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deerfield il
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great dining experience1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Definitely one of the finest restaurants my wife and I have ever eaten at in our 37 years of dining in the US and abroad! The food at Danko's was outstanding and the service superb. My wife and I each had the four course dinner. I had a dungeness crab salad, a coriander and pepper encrusted tuna, a superb cheese course, and a creme fraiche cheesecake. My wife had a marvelous corn and crab soup, seared scallops, cheeses, and a chocolate souffle with dark chocolate and creme anglais sauces. The fact that we could get half-pours of wine with each course also allowed us to taste a variety of fine wines.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandykaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
554 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“This place will rock you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I booked this restaurant based on the reviews in Trip Advisor several months before we arrived. Best time we could get was 10:00 p.m.! This was the night that we got engaged. The restaurant was busy and crowded. Tables are a bit close together, but with the different levels of service and waiters you didn't really notice. It's nice to have service second to none. We also liked the menu, choose between 3-5 courses. You can have the same item 5 times, or you can have any course in any order that you like. 5 desserts? Go for it. The food was nicely presented, every dish we ate had it's own personal touch. The service wasn't about having 3-4 people over your shoulder every minute, but was nicely timed so that you didn't feel rushed. Once I popped the "question", they must have noticed because it wasn't long before we were congratulated and were delivered another desert!! This restaurant is rated close to the top in San Francisco for a reason.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Gary Danko also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Restaurant Gary Danko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing