We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wines, great location”
Review of Nectar Wine Lounge

Nectar Wine Lounge
Ranked #1,300 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Marina District
Cross street: Lombard / Chestnut
Transit: There is a muni stop on Chestnut Street 1/2 block away from Nectar.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great wines, great location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I was here on a Wednesday night and while there were very few people in the lounge, I was there with a small group and we had a great time. They have a fantastic selection of wines and the service staff is great at providing tastings to see if you like the wine or not and honestly, their knowledge was spot on since each time we had a tasting, we ordered the wine we tasted.

The location is superb, right in the Marina District, and we had a good time before heading off for dinner.

I recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice friendly place to have a glass or two.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Enjoyingworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay View, WI
Level Contributor
215 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stopped in for a drink. The place was pretty crowded, but we found some seats. We tried a few flights and they were Ok. Hoping the wine is better in Sonoma (our destination), but enjoyed San Fran for a night. Beautiful city with lots of places like this to hang out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
487 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Prefer Bin 38”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We went here last Friday before a concert, never having been here before. We had small plates and wine by the glass. The menu is limited. The cheese plate was good. The wine was okay, certainly not of the level of Bin 38, which has fantastic wines by the glass, as well as a more extensive menu. Happy hour from 5:00-7:00 p.m. took some sting out of the bill. Service was okay, not great. We had to flag the server a few times, despite the place not being packed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gailyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flights on demand!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The staff and selection at Nectar are just to die for. The wine flights are the best of any wine bar we have visited on our trip. The owner/sommelier created custom flights for us once we had tried the ones on the menu. We took the Mac and cheese with truffle oil back to the hotel with us and it was the perfect nightcap. I highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy3gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wine tasting and small plates”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Love the wine flights, staff is great, and from the truffle oil popcorn to the bacon wrapped dates - all small plates are great - and fun to share and try. The menu suggests wine parings for each plate, and it's a fun, and relaxed atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PGlocal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nectar Wine Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Nectar Wine Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing