We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isa

Isa
Reserve with OpenTable
Isa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #274 of 5,627 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Marina District
Cross street: Chestnut
Description: HOURS: Tuesday - 5:30 - 9:30 pm Wednesday - 5:30 - 9:30 pm Thursday - 5:30 - 9:30 pm Friday - 5:30 - 10:00pm Saturday - 5:00 - 10:00 pm Sunday - 5:00 - 9:00 pm Rising Star Chef Nominee by the James Beard Foundation, Founder Chef Luke Sung, at Isa has received many accolades from five consecutive years on the Chronicle's Top 100 Bay Area Restaurant List to the Top 40 in Zagat. This is a restaurant not to be missed in San Francisco.
Santa Maria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best service ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just finished eating here based on the reviews from this site and I must say we received the best service I have ever received. It was my wife, my 18 month old son, and myself and we never had an empty glass or bread bowl. When my son began to act out they brought out some treats and they always had a smile on their faces. The service was so great that it almost overshadowed how great the food was. I almost never leave reviews, but this place was amazing!! Don't leave SF without a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pjam_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    62
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
243 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a less touristy location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The food here is really tasty with creative combinations made from quality ingredients. The baked goat cheese with tomato concasse was especially yummy with the contrast of the creamy, warm cheese and the tartness of the tomatoes. Salads are crisp and deftly dressed. And the grilled asparagus was incredibly tender. The scallops were perfectly cooked tho the portion had fewer scallops than what is shown in some other reviewers' photos. And the Point Reyes blue cheese in lieu of dessert is incredibly rich, intense, and flavorful.
We dined here for the 2-week special Dine About Town for $36.95 which was a good value. However if you come here and order from the regular menu without the prix fixe it could become pricey when trying multiple courses. If you're staying downtown, the cab ride can add to the total cost.
Service was adequate, not lacking nor especially attentive. As others have commented, you need to walk past the kitchen and dishwashing area to get to the heated patio. The atmosphere is quaint with tables close together.
If you come here, you probably should have an appreciation of the food preparation. This is a place that is best to go with several people who want to share portions to sample many things vs focusing on individual entrees.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank la2nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Thank you other reviewers ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant purely because of other reviews. We struggle with American white wines as we find them overly sweet or too oaked for our palate how wonderful to find a New Zealand Sauvignon for $5 a glass for happy hour. What a great start ! We chose the fixed price menu 3 courses I had salmon carpaccio followed by halibut and the flourless chocolate cake with vanilla bean ice cream my husband had calamari followed by chicken and amaretti semi fredo all dishes were of good quality and tasty (see pics) if you can try this restaurant you won't be disappointed

Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“everything done to perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

It is unusual when every plate is done just perfectly - but it happened at a recent visit to Isa. Starters of grilled local calamari and a nominal side order of local mushrooms in jus de veau. Calamari was sweet, tender, almost melt in mouth. Mushrooms in jus de veau were rich, lovely. We then split an order of the seasonal fish, which was halibut. The fish was cooked to perfection, a nice crunchy outside, moist on the inside, lovely sauce and vegi sides. We followed that with a split of the roasted rack of lamb, which was one of the best we have ever had. Quality of the lamb was superb, cooking perfect. Wine list is interesting and well priced. This is not a place that does unexpected, trendy combinations - they just cook some real classics perfectly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eclectic_traveler043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willits, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Real Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is such an elegant treat... Having dinner at Isa is a lovely way to pamper one's self. Their prix fix menu is hard to beat. I have eaten here many times, and hope to return many more times!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gbread_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isa also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing