We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Family-Run Restaurant”

Ristorante Franchino
Ranked #115 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Italian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly Family-Run Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This restaurant is a great mom and pop place. I found it based on some good reviews on Yelp. It isn't very big so reservations are recommended. The entire family works in the restaurant and the father greets everyone enthusiastically by the door. All the food tastes homemade and delicious. We tried the bruschetta, gnocchi with pesto, veal parmesan and tiramisu, and enjoyed everything. It was a bit too much gnocchi for me to eat in one sitting so I would recommend sharing it or take some home.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cece1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    66
    21
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Family-owned and operated ”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great food in a small place. So many places in North Beach but this one is small and family run. The care and attention is awesome. My friend goes there every time he's in San Francisco and the owner takes the time to greet us by name. Had the Porcini ravioli - with a side of meatballs - delicious. Great food, family and atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Aloft1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My first choice for Italian food in San Francisco”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Tiny restaurant, but excellent family atmosphere. I always take out of town friends here for a taste of the best Italian food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudithBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mom and Pop on Columbus”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I grew up in " mom-and-pop" businesses, so my love/sympathy/respect for restaurants like Franchinos is just naturally high. This is a true family business: Papa Franchino greets you at the door, Mamma Josephine oversees the menu, and their daughters provide the excellent service. The place is tiny and cozy for those romantic tete-a-tetes; if you dine solo, many tables look out onto the fascinating parade of people on Columbus. Too, the atmosphere is friendly enough that conversations among strangers just naturally occur (I once shared my minestrone with a curious stranger at the next table). The food, including Josephine's homemade minestrone, is uniformly wonderful and quite filling. I always save room, though, for Mamma J's panne cotta--it is the absolute best! Once, on a slow night, Mamma J sat with me and we talked food for a long time--it was like my own personal Food Network show. There are many very fine Italian joints along Columbus; I've tried most of them. But because of its charm and family atmosphere, Franchino's is on my must-go list every time I am in SF.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WDemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Find something else....”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What looked like a true cute little restaurant, was deceiving. The past was swiming in sauce hard to understand because it was a carbonara, the house wine is pretty bad. No much selection on wine by the glass. The service was very nice, but if you are looking for good food this is not the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Franchino also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Franchino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing