We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexceptional mediterranean dining”

Albona Ristorante Istriano
Reserve with OpenTable
Albona Ristorante Istriano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #211 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Taylor & Mason Sts.
Transit: Last stop of the Powell-Mason Cable Car Line at Taylor and Francisco Sts. (1/2 a block away). No. 30 Bus stops at Columbus Ave. and Francisco St. (1 & 1/2 blocks).
Europe
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unexceptional mediterranean dining”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Based on the tripadvisor rating we thought this was worth a visit. The decor was 'traditional', with slightly close seating which added 'atmosphere'. The menu is an unusual mixture of northern italian, croat and austrian (reflecting past cultural influences). Food presentation was equally 'traditional' (ie rustic) with an emphasis on quantity rather than quality or finesse. The veal shanks were singularly lacking in flavour without even the lift that a little salt can provide ! The wine list was adequate with the Puglian primitivo offering reasonable value for money. Service was ok although a couple of the staff were not particularly able to provide information about the food or wine.
Noting previous reviews, perhaps we struck an 'off' night or have too high expectations, however if your serious about food and wine there are probably better places in SF.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    71
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
195 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience - just go!!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited this place tonight with two friends and the overall experience was superb. The service was exceptional without being intrusive and the food was amazing.

I started with the pears and gorgonzola - a great combination and delicious. The seafood stew was one of the best seafood courses I have eaten. All this and just $270 plus a tip and including two bottles of wine! Thanks Sam and your staff for a great evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Middletonmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“SF gem”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Found Albona through Trip Advisor and glad I did! What a great meal my wife and I had. Sam, the owner, greeted us with complimentary Prosecco and a warm personality. The entire staff was attentive and professional. The meal was exceptional as we ordered Sam's recommendations. The mushroom risotto and seafood linguini were excellent. Stay away from the Wharf - come see Sam at Albona.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RAC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great food in an unpretentious dining place. Had the scrumptious 'Brodeto de pesse': Adriatic stew with snapper, mussels, calamari, scallpos & prawns in tomato broth, served with garlic bread. Also delicious was the "Calamai al forno con salsa marinara" - squid stuffed with toasted bread crumbs, parsley, and garlic, roasted in marinara sauce. Service was very pleasant. The waiters called a taxi for us, which came almost immediately!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serraserra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best, (and only) Croatian food I have ever eaten.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Ate here at the recommendation of a relative. and she was right. I had the charred pear with gorgonzola for the first course, the lamb with rosemary, and the chocolate flan for desert. all were excellent but the best part of the evening was the service provided by the staff and the owner, Sam, He treated me like kinfolks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Houston_TexasBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albona Ristorante Istriano also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Albona Ristorante Istriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing