We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good and not expensive resturant”

Henry's Hunan Restaurant
Ranked #873 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Neighbourhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a very good and not expensive resturant”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The atmosphere and the food is just excellent. The food had enough spice to make it tasty and fried to perfection. I didn't try the bacon for myself' since it's not kosher, but all in the menu that we ordered was very tasty. The atmosphere was real good, and it seemed to be an old resturant, but very kept. The service was quite good

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eyoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA Area
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Diana's Special Appetizer is the only thing we got!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Same as before, this is a repeat for us since last year. The service, the atmosphere, and the food is just excellent. Enough spice to make it tasty and fried to perfection. The flour tortilla is fried then the ground beef is placed with lettuce between the tortillas and served hot. It is really a unique item. Someone else ordered the sweet and sour chicken and said it was quite good. We all agreed that the Diana's Special Appetizer was still the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bw13802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still there after all these years!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I used to eat here when I was travelling up to San Francisco for work from Los Angeles about 25 years ago. The restaurant was a great find and I remember there being a "We Use No MSG" vinyl banner. After a while this became a neon sign.

Recently my wife and I were visiting San Francisco from Austin, Texas where we now live - the restaurant is still in the same place and the sign is still there (although no plugged in).

These days we are on the vegan spectrum, but were still able to order a number of dishes. I asked for the eggplant without meat and they were happy to oblige. Tasted great as ever, although it is a bit oily.

Is it the best Chinese restaurant I've ever eaten at? Probably not, but the food is authentic,tasty and good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gossamer78759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, CA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Henry's Forever”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Believe it or not I have been eating Henry's Hunan since the seventies. He had a small little restaurant near the Bank of America building, and if you arrived after 11:45 you had to wait because there was a line out the door. I highly recommend the following: Onion Cakes, Dumplings, Garlic Chicken, and the best Chinese dish I have ever eaten, Smoked Ham. The whole family is a fan. My brother used to fly into town take a cab to the restaurant, meet me for lunch, and then go back to the airport. The best Chinese food in the world

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth A Drive into the City - Get the Spicy Rock Cod”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

If you like spicy chinese food, there is no other place more worthy of a pilgrimage. For many years this place has been dishing up phenomanl hunan style dishes.

Try Marty's special, Henry's special - but don't miss the spicy rock cod.

For those of you who don't enjoy the heat, they can tone it down some.

This is one of my all time favorites - and would encourage you to give it a try. They have two locations (Main one on: Natoma near Second/Mission + Sacramento (near Kearny) + Sansome near Broadway)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Double64Double
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henry's Hunan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Henry's Hunan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing