We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cove Cafe

Cove Cafe
Ranked #765 of 5,643 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: The Castro
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
246 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stopped in Cove on the recommendation of a man in town who was handing out brochures about Castro. Our lunch was delicious and the service was welcoming and friendly. I had a grilled goat cheese sandwich which was on sour dough bread accompanied by homemade tomato soup. It had a unique flavor with just the right balance of cheese and veggies. My daughter had a grilled cheese and my son had a beef sandwich. The great food was only surpassed by the outstanding service. Definitely worth visiting if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great breakfast spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Per my norm I will start off by dying Cove Cafe is in the heart of the Castro.. So if you are homophobic or prejudice then don't come here.
Now if your mind is not limited and you want a great breakfast spot this is for you. Small Cafe with great food and service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SammyM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This small cafe does a great breakfast. I stopped in here before trekking up to Twin Peaks. The staff are ultra friendly and take care of your every request. Perfect for a light bite or a coffee & free wifi.

Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love The Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped in before a show at The Castro Theater on a Saturday. I had the most delicious goat cheese grilled sandwich ever! Wait staff were super sweet! I am sure the place could get packed fast but enjoyed the calm before the storm. Stop by if you happen to be in the area :)

Helpful?
Thank Carrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“more than a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I went with friends who go here at least twice a week. After 3 hours of bottomless mimosas and tasty breakfast, I felt like I was friends with the staff, especially Solange. Great good, great drinks, and I got 3 hugs on the way out. I'll come back, how often do you connect with a restaurant on this level?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joshkspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cove Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cove Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing