We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eats

Eats
Ranked #812 of 5,629 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: The Richmond
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was renting a house within walking distance of Eats and actually found the restaurant through Tripadvisor. The food is really good and staff was amazing. Both visits to the restaurant, we ended up talking with people on tables either side of us. Both times the other people mentioned how it used to be an awful restaurant, before the new owners came in and opened up. On Sunday when we went there was actually a Famer's Market occurring outside. If there is a wait at the restaurant, you write your name and how many in your party on a chalkboard located near the front door. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stangman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The scramble was amazing. Fresh green and yellow zucchini, mushrooms, corn. There was only a genuine smile when I asked to substitute jack for the goat cheese (not a fan) and for some of their fresh salsa. Perfectly cooked. Delicious.

The baked "home fries" seemed to miss the "fries" part. Baking does not home fries making! Dry, lukewarm, flavor-free.

The milk was, as it should be, ice cold.

The staff is congenial. The space/decor - meh.

The 1st rate food and staff are worth the 3rd rate venue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Broedti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Good place for breakfast or brunch. The place is small, food is good, service is great. I like there basic egg breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luluTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved our Sunday morning breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived before 8:30 and easily found a table...not a lot of seating, so get there early. We had fabulous service and the food was great. Their waffles are really yummy. I had the one with berries, bananas and whipped cream...out of this world! The menu is really varied and has a breakfast item for everyone. A little hole in the wall place that is a great find.

Helpful?
Thank SusieFlutist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eats works!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

I liked Eats very much!

The service was perfectly wonderful, to begin with. I was served attentively, by friendly wait staff and bussers.

The restaurant is around 2nd and Clement, so be ready: Clement can be an awful place to find parking. However, since Eats' specialty is breakfast and brunch, I found it easy.

The menu struck a great balance between inventiveness and precious eclecticism for its own sake. I loved the basic breakfast with bacon, two eggs, and a waffle, but I also appreciated the fact that they had a few more interesting dishes, like the fancy bread with figs, cheese and honey drizzling. The mimosa was one of the best I've ever had. It was almost... creamy?

The vibe in the place was perfectly warm, friendly and welcoming. It has that golden glow that you want from a breakfast place. I'll enjoy coming back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Villagejonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eats also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing