We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much flavour!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pompei's Grotto

Pompei's Grotto
Ranked #563 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So much flavour!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Staff were brilliant. Tried the Sailor Punch in Face - too much grenadine. Had oysters to start and the shrimp and scallop linguine for main. Both were gorgeous with tonnes of flavour!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodielvr91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    316
    136
    63
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zeland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Famous for its signature Clam Chowder dish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Loved the history of this place being run by the family for many generations and started from a caravan selling food to the fishermen. Daughter had the signature dish. Place was humming. Good service and atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quick simple food with lovely service ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here after a tour of the Alcatraz. Food was OK and kept us going for the rest of the day, but service was lovely. Coffee (we ordered macchiatos) was bad, not Italian.

Helpful?
1 Thank mferribb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama Province, Panama
Level Contributor
240 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Just as wonderful as before”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have timed it right both times we have stopped by this restaurant for lunch. Right at Fisherman's Wharf, close to Ghiradelli and the trolley, my group of four really enjoy this restaurant for a stopover when in SF. We prefer to sit in the bar at the window, and our table was open for us again during our day trip. We had a lovely waitress our last visit, and this time we had the bartender serving us. He was amicable and always ready for us (to wait on our table, serve us our food, get us our refills, etc) all the while tending the bar. He engaged us while he chatted with others (we all carried on conversation together). For lunch, my husband and I shared a large salad and the fish and chips. I wanted more fish (since we were sharing, there were only three pieces to divide up). Not greasy at all, and the fish was tender and flavorful. The cost is a bit high though ($17 for three "strips" and chips). And I still love the Joel Gott white wine that I tried here eight months ago. This place continues to be a great lunch stop for me and my husband.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlliTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Don't expect interaction with the waitress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner and being from the UK expect a certain speed of service - a leisurely stroll rather than a sprint!

The food was good and reasonably priced but the waitress, whilst ruthlessly efficient was not the talkative type - if she had her way we would have been in and out with 2 courses in around 30 mins!

The restaurant was well maintained and the menu what you expect in Fisherman's Wharf but don't expect pizzas - it is a seafood restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pompei's Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Pompei's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing