We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ive had better”
Review of Sanppo Restaurant

Sanppo Restaurant
Ranked #1,992 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$0 - US$18
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Japantown
Wigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ive had better”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

myself and my daughter had a selection of sushi roll between us... what can i say....not paticularly bad but ive had better and given a choice i would try somewhere else.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank redqueeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced authentic Japanese food”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Fast, friendly staff, great hours, AWESOME sushi and teriyaki dishes.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Ok if you're hungry”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Food was ok but not worth making a special trip. Wife and I were starving and all other restaurants had a 30+min wait.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lostinatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good enough when you're hungry”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We showed up to this restaurant because it was late Friday night and we just wanted a place to eat.

My girlfriend and I both ordered their Ramen (I had the Pork Ramen, she had the Miso Ramen), and we ordered the Agedashi Tofu to start. When the server came to take our order we told her we were Ramen lovers and wanted to know of any other good Ramen shops in San Francisco. After pointing them out to us she mentioned that their ramen is much better than ours (which my girlfriend jokingly said, ok please cancel our orders).

When the food came, it was good enough.. I've definitely had better ramen elsewhere. It was poorly made and overcooked. However, the broth was very good. The tofu was mediocre, nothing special.

Definitely a good enough place to eat, but definitely not a place you'd want to go if you want great food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bestbeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
372 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Good for a late night soba craving”
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This place served one purpose, satisfy my late night soba noodle and maybe tuna roll cravings. This place was right across the street from my hotel and it did the trick. Was it the best sushi? NO WAY! Was it the best soba noodle soup? Not really. But, it's there when you want it late at night. Dreary decor too. It reminded me of a diner with a Japanese accent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyLINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanppo Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sanppo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing