We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing sushi in Japan town”
Review of Sanppo Restaurant

Sanppo Restaurant
Ranked #2,647 of 5,736 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$0 - US$18
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Neighbourhood: Japantown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Japantown
Hod Ha Sharon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing sushi in Japan town”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Went in around 2300 having come from the airport late. Ordered 3 roles of sushi giant, ninja and rainbow.
Tea and first course soup were nice. Sushi was average minus. Service was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Achi_H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just okay sushi and service”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I've been here a couple of times and it's nothing special. I had the sushi special and it was fine. Nothing out of the ordinary, or particularly impressive. If you want to stop in an grab a bite to eat, it's fine if your expectations are realistic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Good sushi and service”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stopped by here to grab some takeout sushi. The sushi was very fresh and tasty - had the Lion King and Dragon roll. The service was also good as I was well taken care of while waiting for my takeout order.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squaw Valley, California
1 review
“Always so good!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I used to go here nearly every week when I lived near the area, its always good to visit and have a bowl again. They changed the recipie a bit but I think its better then ever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cristinegair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good sushi, nice service”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Friendly service and a great location. The sushi was ok - good quality but nothing unique or exciting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonbsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanppo Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sanppo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing