We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cocktails!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cantina

Cantina
Ranked #2,250 of 5,629 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Seating
Neighbourhood: Union Square
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cocktails!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Loved the cocktails and the bartenders were friendly. Went there several times during my trip and not one drink let me down. Great atmosphere!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Horrible attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were actually sent here on a recommendation, and will never return here again. We walked in and were maybe 2 of 8 people there, and the bartender looked at us, didn't say a word, then later grabbed 2 drink menus and plopped it down in front of us only saying 'beer and wine in the back' before he walked away.
Not too sure what his name was, but he had full facial hair, and got none of our business that night. We were so put off by his attitude that we left before even buying a drink.
If he worked for us, his career would be short lived (as we run a concert venue with 5 bars).
Its very unfortunate for him, as he could have made a good amount of tips from us..... but I suppose he must not need the money with that attitude.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treynly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stumbled upon this by accident as we were walking out of our hotel next door. When we ordered whiskey sours, Brian, the bartender, asked us if we wanted a traditional one - we did not know what that was and he explained it was originally made with egg white. We will never be able to drink the other whiskey sours again! His drinks were the best; he did a great job tending to all customers; the place is relaxed, fun and a mix of ages. Highly recommend stopping for a drink.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Catch Drink in Union Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stumbled upon this place while walking around in Union Square and we were so happy we walked in. The scene is surely a bit dark but it fits the place perfectly. There was a mixed crowd of working professionals when we went in. We parked ourselves at the bar and browsed through their unique drink offerings. My gf and I were both confused as to what we wanted and the bartender ask us what we normally drink and offered suggestions that complimented our palette. We had a total of 2 drinks each while we were there and they we absolutely amazing. Just watching the bartender make our drink was very entertaining. There are a lot of ingredients in each drink and a great bit of skill is required to execute them perfectly. The people behind the bar really know what they are doing. We will surely visit this place again when we come back to San Fran.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Vibe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This place has a great vibe. The place is a little bit on the dark-side, as in not very well lit, but it works. You'd hate to be sitting at a bar with a spotlight on you, so it is nice, but in the back corner I did need a cellphone light to see the drink menu.
Speaking of, the drink menu was large and delicious. They had several different drinks for both men and women. Not all were fruity but not all were robust and manly. I'd say they have a good mix of flavors on their menu.
The bartenders were awesome. Very nice and their drink making skills were awesome. We always asked if the could make our drinks right in front of us because we like to watch the show. It's an art. I heard they have a dj there when it gets later into the night but the place is a bit small to have a lot of dancing.
This place is definitely the place to go when you are first heading out for the night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonkeySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantina also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing