We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cassava

Cassava
Reserve with OpenTable
Cassava is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #879 of 5,644 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: From Morning Coffee to Dinner: 4 course nightly tasting menu weekend brunch, cafe on weekdays We Are Here! Market driven modern California cuisine by Chef Kristoffer Toliao and team.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This restaurant is just a few blocks from where our daughter lives, and we have taken the bus past it many times. But fortunately a friend of a friend recommended it, and we will return often. It is a small restaurant but impressive in many ways. The decor is simple but appropriate (and humorous). The staff is super-friendly and helpful, concerned about the customer's schedule and ready to suggest menu items or variations to meet dietary needs and preferences (gluten free, vegetarian, etc.). The menu is small, but includes an interesting and unusual range of dishes. I enjoyed the Japanese breakfast (especially the dabs of lemon zest on the rice), and also got to finish our granddaughter's liege waffle. Others at the table expressed their appreciation for their dishes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

After going to the Palace of the Legion of Honor, we stopped at Cassava for brunch on a Saturday morning. What a surprise! It's a great little restaurant, with an interesting menu. We ate outside under heaters and enjoyed some tasty food! I had the curry meatballs with one of the best eggs on top. My husband had the waffle, eggs, and bacon which I think I'll get next time -yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic, hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Tucked away out in the foggy Outer Richmond is a lovely cafe owned and run by the nicest husband and wife team (Filipino and Japanese heritage). Everything is tasty. I am especially fond of the Japanese style siphon coffee by Ritual, the Japanese breakfast (actually nothing special, but it is nearly impossible to find Japanese breakfast at a restaurant even in SF), quiche, quinoa salad and the list goes on. On some evenings, they serve small plates with wine and sake. They source their sake from boutique breweries that are not easily found in the US. Oh, and their carrot/celery/apple smoothie is perfect--not too sweet, a bit tart, and probably very healthy. The cafe itself is bright and cheerful. The staff are extremely well trained (notice how the cashier will always accept your payment with both hands, and present you with change in the same way--a Japanese detail). A great place to refuel after a hike around Land's End.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mt188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood bistro that serves Californian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had dinner there last Friday. The food was great and the service was awesome. I especially like the polenta, ribs, and the smoked trout. The brussel sprouts dish is delicious, too.

It is in the Richmond district, a bit out of the tourist way and a very residential area. If you are around the neighborhood, it is great to check it out and see what Californian food in San Francisco is all about.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MustLoveTruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cassava also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cassava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing