We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH”

Moulin Rouge Restaurant
Ranked #1,119 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$0 - US$8
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place is a very small family run breakfast spot that is to die for. The owners are beyond friendly and go out of their way to make your meal fantastic. The food is absolutely delicious, especially the pancakes. I highly recommend locals and visitors to eat here, you will be glad that you did!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bucshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

One of the best breakfasts we had anywhere in our 24 day trip through the US and Canada.The cafe is run by a husband and wife couple who provide excellent service and good quality food. We would highly recommend you try this; the exterior may not look promising, but stepping in takes you into this this great little place. Generous portions match the generosity of the service and the quality of the cooking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsmills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesnt taste cheao but it so is!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Looks a bit dodgy but really grwat service and food. :) def a must do. The couple is very sweet and the food is bountiful. Im sure my omlet could feed at least 2. Also our side of bacon had 5 pieces!!!

Helpful?
Thank Mickella B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in San Francisco!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Best breakfast in San Fran! From the outside it may look a bit dodgy but inside is very cosy. They have one cook and one waiter, married to each other and owned the place for over 30 years and they were very friendly. My family all had the morning special of pancakes and the portion was very big and it tasted amazing. The prices are Very reasonable too! Definitely a place to eat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite breakfast in San Francisco”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Several years ago when my husband and I stayed at the Carlton we walked by the Moulin on our way to Union Square and decided to go back the next morning for breakfast. It was great, eggs cooked perfectly, bacon, hash browns and toast, all for $7.50.
The Moulin is owner operated by a lovely older Chinese-American couple. The husband is the front-of-house and waiter. His wife is the cook. We've been three times, several years apart as we live in New Zealand but we'd be regulars if we lived nearby. If you go, and I hope you do, ask about their European holiday, they love to chat when they aren’t too busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moulin Rouge Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Moulin Rouge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing