We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yee's Restaurant - Good, very inexpensive food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yee's Restaurant

Yee's Restaurant
Ranked #732 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Yee's Restaurant - Good, very inexpensive food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Made a decision to eat here at Yee's Restaurant by how crowded it was and by how few caucasians were in that crowd. Although this strategy doesn't always result in a good experience, in this case we weren't dissappointed. Lots of options you just don't find at your more common Asian restaurant (e.g. pigeon served a variety of ways and menu options with the word "pig guts" in it for starters). When I ordered the House Special Chicken, our server informed me that it was boiled chicken, not BBQ or fried, as if to tell me it might be more than I bargained for. I settled for the BBQ pork and got a HUGE portion. On the opposite side of the table my wife ordered Beef with Chinese vegetables. The two entrees were more than enough food. Along with the Tsingtao beer we each ordered our bill came to $25 - including tip.

Please note: they are cash only, no plastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ecbatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Restaurant is on grant street, 1131, if you want a very good cheap Chinese meal this is the place to go. It is a very basic restaurant but has great food at really good price. You will find a lot of local Chinese eating at this restaurant. Need to not order to many dishes as generally two dishes plus rice is enough for three. A whole Peking duck as a takeaway is only 14 dollars. Our meal for two including one beer was 25 dollars and that included two shrimp dishes. Need to make note it is not for a romantic meal but great for a dinner out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“still good authentic chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

in mid-day, they have ready to plates. i had a plate of mixed vegetables, mostly chinese mushrooms and tofu. and a plate.of sliced cured duck. Only $2.30 each. cup of tea, free.

wow, tasty meal for under 5 bucks!

be adventurous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank food_reviewer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Sorry, good value but not good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We popped in here as it was just around the corner from our hotel and we had just arrived in San Francisco at tea time. It was about 7.30 pm and to be honest quite busy with both local Chinese and visitors which we felt was promising.
We all ordered from the section of the menu which was entitled " a bowl of rice and....."
I wasn't feeling very adventurous so ordered chicken curry and my teenagers both ordered roast duck. My curry was definitely not chicken, it was some indescribable meat that I had never seen or eaten before, I landed up extracting the meat and leaving it, whilst mixing the rice with the sauce. The roast duck came skin on which is fine and the kids removed it along with the normal fatty underside but the duck was tough and in places undercooked.
Sorry although really reasonable at about $7.50 each we left dissatisfied

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mistyb1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great antidote to touristy eating places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just dropped in when walking by with the family and was really pleased with the food and value. We ordered too much, so they served the first dew things before checking with us that we really needed the extra dishes which I really appreciated. It felt like a very authentic Chinatown dining experience which we really enjoyed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yee's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yee's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing