We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fantastic place, lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #135 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    206
    116
    53
    67
See reviews for
47
252
58
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seveso, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The location of the Hotel is quite perfect close to the center and at 5 minutes by feet to busses and subway.We took a 4 person room and it was confortable enough. Maybe the bathroom was too a little too small.
Suggested for people who want to find central places without a huge cost.
The only thing we didn't like was breakfast. There is no room to sit and almost nothing to eat.. anyway there are a lot of nice places where to have breakfast near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

First of all be ready for a small room and not just small but Small. Building is very old and that makes it very tight everywhere including hallways, winding staircase, breakfast room that has no tables to seat down and rooms.
But rooms and bathrooms are squeaky clean that was a pleasant surprise to my wife. Continental breakfast was on a 'skinny' side compared to other places, but we didn't go hungry. I noticed that there is no air-conditioner in the room but we didn't need one since it was around 60 outside during our stay.
Hotel is covered with paintings not just in hallways but in rooms and bathrooms too that makes this place very different.
Overall we had a great experience especially due to a location of the hotel that allowed us to walk to China town, Union square and even to Fisherman's wharf (around 30-40min. walk)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borispog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Enjoyed our one-night at this quirky, funky, different place located in San Fran's "French Quarter." It had the feel of a European pension with shared bath/toilet, and young clientele. Our small room had a private small shower and toilet.

A BIG PLUS was LOCATION, near Montgomery Street BART and F line Muni, 1/2 block from Chinatown, and adjacent to Financial district.

Another plus, free WiFi.

Loved the contemporary art on the walls throughout the hotel. Our room had a beautiful mural of a shapely, scantily-clad woman. No wonder my husband felt the room was too warm...there was no air conditioning so we had to open our window for fresh air.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

Continental breakfast was skimpy, orange juice, bagels, coffee/tea, but passable.

Room Tip: request a room on 2nd floor, same floor as reception to avoid narrow stairs and slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geaux-saints-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed for seven nights with my wife and paid a total of $800 (booked 5 months in advance on a stay for seven, pay for five deal)... Very good price for location. It is nears union square, Chinatown, and public transportation. The hotel is very unique and interesting. We got a room with our own bathroom, as not all rooms have them, and it was tiny. There's no AC as the weather is always cool, but the problem is that with the window open, it gets noisy regardless of where you stay (we were on 5th floor). Also, there's some sort of vent I the restroom that can release a funky smell at times if left open. We enjoyed our stay overall, and for this one time it was a fun, quirky experience. Probably wouldn't come back, unless the price is right again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Our room was small, but spotless and super cool. I would love to go back 42 more times to see the rest of the rooms. It's boutique. Breakfast is boring. The elevator is a little scary cuz it's so old, but the cool factor of it helped. The staff was super sweet, and the bed was so comfy I didn't want to leave in the morning. A total jewel of a find for us. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moneyCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Good:
- Location, location, location;
- Free wifi;
- Very friendly, helpfull and polite. Both frontdesk ladies was just great!
Ok:
- property;
- cleaness;
- breakfast.
Bad:
- The most tiny room we ever stayed in the States!!!
- hotel is too pricy for that rooms;
- very slow tiny elevator;
- no view from window.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#154 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#89 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#156 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Chinatown
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#199 of 230 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 447 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arts is at the crossroads of Union Square, the Financial District and the Chinatown Gate; perfect for business or pleasure. The Hotel des Arts presents the contemporary work of local artists complemented by the neutral simplicity, modern lightings and clean lines of the hotel furnishings. The result is art as an interactive experience rather than just decoration. Enjoy our complementary continental breakfast or dine in Le Central, a French Brasserie right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Des Arts San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing