We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Forget if you can't cope with noise”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #139 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Forget if you can't cope with noise”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed as a business traveller and was attracted by the relatively cheap rates and central location. As some other reviewers have commented this is a fairly basic hotel and I was fully prepared for this. The hotel, its staff and facilities I found to be quite acceptable. However, the level of noise in the hotel between approx. 06:00 and 22:00 Mon-Sat is frankly unacceptable. The cause - the neighbouring Brasserie has an extractor fan on their kitchen roof directly below many of the hotel rooms. While these things are never especially quiet, this particular fan seems to have some kind of malfunction - you can even hear it screaming one block away during heavy traffic! Luckily I had earplugs (which only slightly reduce the noise) and due to jetlag I was so exhausted I slept ok. However, if you are in any way noise sensitive or you plan to be in your room much between 06:00 and 22:00 you should seriously consider not staying here. Hotel des Arts - Please talk to your neighbours about the legality of that machinery on their roof! Certainly where I come from it would be illegal to make so much noise next to where people are living and sleeping!

Room Tip: As far away from the front part of the hotel as possible, preferably not overlooking the roof of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClubT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    213
    120
    54
    69
See reviews for
53
261
59
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have stayed here at least a half a dozen times. It is my go to place (along with Union Square Hotel). First of all, comfortable beds are very important to my husband... And this hotel has his all-time-favorite beds. The location is great for access to the convension center, and has many great restaurants near by (walk down hill from the hotel about a block, and there is a cool alley of restaurants on the left...) close to China Town, and a nice walk to Union Square.
The elevator is small but absolutely classic! The art in the rooms and throughout the hallways are what really makes this place special. Staff is always friendly!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have bathrooms... But I have never found this a problem. The ones near the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We chose this hotel for its location and price. The room was very small, but clean. We had a problem with the toilet, we were offered another room for the night, but it was too close to another leaking toilet (very noisy). The assistant on duty told us we were being difficult... afterwords, we were asked not to flush toilet paper through the toilet, but to throw it in the bin. Yeah right...
Anyway, the location was great and the bed was really comfortable (it wasn't all bad :-) ), but don't expect too much from the breakfast. It's just a small room with some bagels and bread, cheese and jam. But it was enough to get you started for the day.

So, no, I won't be going back, but if you're traveling on a budget, why not... I wouldn't go with my kids, though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the elevator and the shared toilets as possible! The elevator is ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here in October 2013, not sure why people are complaining about this hotel! I found it to be very clean with very comfy beds and clean sheets. The whole hotel is quirky and at a great price compared to other hotels. The bathroom was slightly dated, but have you seen the pictures of some of the Union square hotels, even more dated and more expensive! Wasn’t a problem at all, everything functioned ok. You have to access the hotel via an intercom, but again I can’t see the problem with this? The door is opened within seconds and makes the place very secure.

The location is excellent, a 10 minute walk from the BART station, which is worth catching if you’re coming from the airport, only $8, with all the main shopping areas, china town and the hop on hop off bus nearby. The only thing that I'd say is, if you have a room in the centre of the building and its bin day, it can be noisy early in the morning. Staff are very helpful and the free breakfast of bagels and juice/coffee was a good idea.

I would definitely stay here again as it was convenient, cheap and funky. Two or three doors down from this hotel is an Irish pub which serves excellent food at good prices, worth a visit! If you are going to moan about this place, then go pay $500 and stay at the Hilton with no character!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lilgreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

After 14 hours of flying, an in depth conversation with a US customs officer about why I hadn't bought my BART ticket or planned my transfer to the city and wheeling way to much luggage around SF I arrived at my Hotel four hours prior to book in. The staff were eager to accommodate me and showed me to my room straight away.
For the next seven days this Hotel was my hub. It was in a wonderful position with everything close at hand which allowed me to experience most of the well known districts. My room was a double, it had a bathroom off a lounge room with a sofa/lounge and the queen sized bed was in a separate room. I am a little arty so I thought the graffiti art work on the walls were amazing. Linen and the room in general was clean and refreshed daily with a cleaning service. I really liked also having the bar fridge for food and drink that I picked up from the shops near by.
Another great aspect of this place was the breakfast as long as you get in early while the coffee is still fresh! The bagels and jam with cream cheese and fresh fruit were a great complimentary service for the budget traveler.
I felt safe in this Hotel as I was traveling alone and the staff were always very friendly and gave advice on the best places to go and how to get there.
One thing that stuck out for me is that in my room I was able to open my windows. It's a real bug bear for me that I usually have to live with air conditioning in hotels. I much prefer fresh air and this place provided a flow of fresh air which was a real bonus.
I can't believe how lucky I was to pick this Hotel out not knowing much about it. I would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I liked having my own bathroom, I know they offer rooms with shared bathrooms though I was really gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hotel des Arts is a really simple hotel, we were looking for something cheap, well located, clean and that was what we got.

When we arrived we got the worst impression, reception is in the 1st floor, there is a very tight stair to 1st level and we didn´t see the elevator, but there is one in the back, so we got our luggage through this tiny stair. We never had been in an old hotel so we are not used to it, the carpet has a particular smell, but inside the room everything was all right and that was what matter for us.

We stayed for 1 week, staff is really friendly and Breakfast was a bagel and coffee, more than enough for me, coffee actually was really good, strong as Brazilian. As my husband doesn´t drink coffee and water tea was not hot enough to make the tea we bought some beverage bottles and let it on the mini fridge.

As we read some reviews on trip advisor we reserved a room out of the alley, but even though we were in room 302 facing a restaurant roof we could hear the noise from the garbage collector in the early morning and fans in the roof made noise until really late night, as we don´t have problems with noise that was ok, if you do I think that this hotel would make you crazy, every sound of the street could be heard from our room.

Overall we would stay there again if we were in the beginning of a trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn´t face the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCollet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 04/10 until 12/10 in 2013. It's a great hotel in a fabulous location but be prepared to move rooms - as we did - if you find bites on your body and specks of blood on your sheets. This is a perennial problem with any sort of hotel and to the management's credit, they were mortified and said we should have alerted them straightaway and moved us without any bother in to a room without bugs.
I'd stay again and would recommended it to others with a few caveats...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getsapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#154 of 229 in San Francisco
44 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#66 of 229 in San Francisco
1,799 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#89 of 229 in San Francisco
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
Union Square
SF Plaza Hotel
SF Plaza Hotel
#200 of 229 in San Francisco
451 reviews
Union Square
325 Sutter Hotel
325 Sutter Hotel
#149 of 229 in San Francisco
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Property: Hotel des Arts
Address: 447 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel des Arts is at the crossroads of Union Square, the Financial District and the Chinatown Gate; perfect for business or pleasure. The Hotel des Arts presents the contemporary work of local artists complemented by the neutral simplicity, modern lightings and clean lines of the hotel furnishings. The result is art as an interactive experience rather than just decoration. Enjoy our complementary continental breakfast or dine in Le Central, a French Brasserie right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel
Des Arts San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing