We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular atmosphere, average service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court

Garden Court
Reserve with OpenTable
Garden Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #605 of 5,629 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$35 - US$80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: SoMa
Cross street: Market St.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular atmosphere, average service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Lunch with family and friends at the Garden Court is always an eye pleasing joy. Our service started out well, but deteriorated to unsatisfactory when we were unable to get our waiters attention for too long. I had to walk to the cash register in order to pay the bill. This is not what I have experienced in the past while dining here. The food presentation and flavor were great, although a bit pricey. We will always return to the Garden Court when visiting The City.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RJCJPC42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    62
    23
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Palace Hotel Afternoon Tea in the Garden Court”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a review for afternoon tea, we did not stay at the hotel. We did a Saturday afternoon tea at the Palace Hotel about 2 weeks ago. It was myself and my boyfriend. The Palace Hotel is conveniently located next to a MUNI/BART stop which was nice for us. We had been inside the hotel before and were again impressed by the very lovely and historic Garden Court dining area. Coming by to the see this room is worth walking inside. We had reservations and were seated immediately. There were lots of people celebrating birthdays, baby showers, bridal showers, etc. and surprisingly a lot of children were there as they do have a special children's tea. The tea and food was quite good. The food is not made to order (its been sitting for a bit by the end of the tea time) and this shows as our sandwich contents were a tad hard and our desserts were a bit over sugared. I really enjoyed 3 of the 5 sandwiches a lot and the scones were delicious. I couldn't eat all my desserts so my boyfriend helped me out. A server walks around with hot water so you can have a second pot of tea and we both did. Service was fast and good, everyone was very nice and professional to us. Overall, we felt that the experience was worth the price especially with the wonderful setting. I do wish the food had been a tad better though.


For a very detailed description of our afternoon tea experience with lots of pictures you can read our post here:

http://independenttravelcats.com/2013/08/28/afternoon-tea-in-san-francisco-palace-hotel-tea-at-the-garden-court/

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JT33Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best sunday buffet brunch in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This opulent, 19th century romantic restaurant in the Palace Hotel has the finest Sunday buffet brunch in San Francisco. When the Ritz Carleton had their wonderful upscale Sunday buffet's it was a close call, but with the departure of that fine alternative the Garden Court is the clear winner. The atmosphere of this old San Francisco dinning room is regal, with high ceilings and a beautiful interior. There is a live jazz band which adds to the ambiance and at Christmas there is magnificent tree.

The food selection is quite extensive and the champagne flows freely and the service more than adequate. But the price is steep for some being somewhat higher for special occasions running around $75-$85 per person.

We drive from Walnut Creek a couple of times a year to enjoy savor this experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch at the Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The Garden Court at the Palace Hotel is the place to be on Sunday. The place is beautiful, the service top notch, food is unlimited with plenty of choices. And did I mention, champagne is overflowing. It's a bit expensive for $85 per person but everyone should try it once.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Every Thirty-five Years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

It was 1978 and our love was new. We stayed at the Palace and had lunch in the Garden Court. It was memorable, and so we returned.

It is as grand and beautiful as we remembered. There were changes, no buffets back then, just waiters and ordering from menus which is our preference. But times change so, live with it.

The buffet has it all, and economically makes the most sense what with all the coffee and orange juice being served that one could want. It costs, but for the experience of eating in a grand space that is rare to find, it's acceptable. It is something to fondly remember.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eastbyeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden Court also viewed

 

Been to Garden Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing