We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable value - good, solid staple lunch buffet”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
India Palace Restaurant
Ranked #3,716 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Remarkable value - good, solid staple lunch buffet”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Friendly (Nepalese-staffed) restaurant serving a ridiculously cheap all-you-can-eat lunch buffet for $9.99. Pleasant choice of hot, fresh staples. Good naan, adequate chai, very good desserts. I could not buy the raw materials for this price, so any equivocation would be churlish. Basic restaurant, clean and tidy; didn't visit the restrooms. Would happily go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Docstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food cheap and tasty”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The spinach pakoras were the best I've ever eaten!!

For ambiance this place scores zero, for food and value for money scores ten.

The rest room door requires cleaning more regularly - use a tissue to get out!!

We are vegans from London and we stumbled over this place one lunch time - recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mathewmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient dining close to the Sundance Theatre”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I ate here, primarily, because I finally found parking directly across the street when I was headed to a matinee at the Sundance. I had recently returned from a four month stay in India and this was my first chance to have Indian food since then. I was in a rush so I opted for their buffet lunch. It was good - not great - with a large selection, from appetizers to entrees to desserts - all for $10. The tandori chicken was moist, not dried out as I frequently find in Indian buffets. I found most of the food a little bland, though. I like my Indian food spicy. The waiters were most attentive - but, since the restaurant was almost empty, they had little to do.

This is a good choice if you are going to a movie at Sundance though street parking in the Fillmore is horrible.

It is, by far, NOT the best Indian restaurant at which I've eaten in San Francisco. My personal favorite is the India Clay Oven on Clement Street.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RNSANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“rip off”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The dahl was so salty, we could not eat it and did not get a refund. The sauce of Navratan Korma was poor. The Saag Paneer was also salty. Restaurant carpets and floor were dirty.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

If you are looking for ambience, this is the wrong place. If you are looking for good food at reasonable prices, then you have arrived at the right place. The Buffet costs less than $10 per person all you can eat. There are starters, a reasonable spread, many chatnis and pakoras and samosas.

Roti is served hot and like everywhere else in the USA tends to be thicker than it is in India. be it Naan or be it Roti. for vegetarians, there is a reasonably good spread with there or four choices and a good dhal to boot. Generally garlic free unlike many other Indian restaurants that reek of Garlic.

Tremendous value for money, quick and efficient service without much fanfare. This is the Indian version of a quick dinner and lunch place.

I suspect delivery is from another place and not from this restaurant as there seems to be a world of difference between delivered food and what you get at the restaurant. Delivered food is not good at all !!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DNPRAHLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Palace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to India Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing