We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood goodness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier Market

Pier Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Pier Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Embarcadero
Description: Voted Best Seafood in San Francisco by KRON 4 TV Best of the Bay, Pier Market is an authentic sustainable seafood restaurant where the locals go for the freshest seafood in the city. Pier Market is family-owned and operated and one of the most popular dining destinations on Fisherman's Wharf. Pier Market has been selling San Francisco's freshest seafood for 30 years. We feature Fresh, Mesquite-Grilled Fish and Meat, Crab, Pastas, Steaming bowls of our Award-Winning Clam Chowder, Authentic Sourdough Bread. Enjoy watching our chefs at work in full view of our bustling open kitchen overlooking the San Francisco Bay, the PIER 39 sea lions and Alcatraz Island. We also offer al fresco dining on our wide-open patio.
NE USA
Level Contributor
326 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Seafood goodness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great lunch spot and people watching from our outdoor seating. Efficient friendly service. Very good New England clam chowder in the sourdough bowl and grilled salmon burger. We had a pleasant sunny day and eating outdoors was perfect.
I appreciate (& seek out) the sustainable seafood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThePBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    604
    193
    45
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap? Nope”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Chowder bowl, fish n chips good eats! Pricing ok for being in a tourist area. Waitress was attentive and service was good. Very clean bathrooms
Would go back next time in town

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love the Food and the People Watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Every time my sister comes to town she wants to go to Pier Market at Pier 39 for lunch or dinner because we've had such good experiences there in the past. It's become a tradition and we haven't been let down yet. The indoor seating has great views of the Golden Gate Bridge and the boats in the harbor. We prefer to eat outside. There's something about the ambiance of sitting outside on the pier, watching the folks stroll by, while eating delicious seafood, that makes us understand why so many people want to go to San Francisco, a world famous destination city.
This is not a "white tablecloth" kind of place, but rather a good restaurant sitting in the middle of a tourist attraction known as Pier 39, in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf. The food is good and the wait staff is very pleasant and informed about the menu. Every restaurant in San Francisco claims it has the best clam chowder. Pier Market's chowder is excellent. The salmon burgers are our favorite. The restaurant has unique "adult beverages" that are a delight as well. The staff doesn't hurry you along.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We got into town and checked into the hotel. Walked over to get something to eat as we were still on east coast time. Got a table outside with only a 5 minute wait. Fish was excellent and service was good. It did get a little cold as we ate and the heaters didn't seem to be on high enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahului, Hawaii
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant on the Pier 39”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had a late lunch here with family! The restaurant is comfortable, spacious and the staff is efficient and service oriented. it was cold so logically we ordered a bowl of their famous clam chowder in a sourdough bowl...and this was very very GOOD! The pork sandwich was forgetable (makes sense because this is a seafood place) but the garlic french fries were fabulous. Have to admit that the specialty cocktails were also very delicious too! Overall, its a nice restaurant on the Pier with very good food --- great stop for nourishment, rest and a view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maui-mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier Market also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Pier Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing