We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay & value for money in SF”
Review of Hotel Mayflower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayflower
Ranked #20 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our California road trip - you can't go wrong with this place i.m.o., the reasons being:

Location
It's very close to places to eat and drink, and there is a cable-car stop close by. Easy to get to the waterfront and all the main sights by bus or on foot if you are in good shape. You're gonna walk a LOT no matter where you stay in SF, I recommend getting a new pair of running-sneakers (I got them there, shops and malls are 3 min. walk down the hill).

Service
When booking by email I asked for a quiet room at the back of the building as the main street is a relatively busy one. They took care of this and Ryan, the frontdesk guy on duty when we arrived was extremely helpfull with our enquiries. A free map was supplied by the hotel and they were always very good at giving info and directions.

Cleanliness
Room & bed was clean and the place looked well maintained - no small feat as most places in SF in this price bracket will not probably not be as clean.


All the above points put this place well above other similarly priced hotels in the centre.

Breakfast was fairly low key for someone like me who likes yoghurt & fruit (you'll find neither here - though go to the store next door and you can get anything extra you want and bring it to the table).
But with a selection of cereals, store bought bread, peanut butter, jam, muffins, cookies and boiled eggs (they eat 'em cold in the US), even the most difficult eater will find smth to get them started. The coffee was good I thought, and they had juices and tea on offer too.
A nice touch - you can watch the news & weather in the breakfast area.

For the price I'd say all in all excellent value in an expensive city such as San Francisco.

Room Tip: Front of the building may not be great for light sleepers. Ask for a rear facing room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mightylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mayflower
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Mayflower Hotel has a very friendly staff and great vintagy-downtown atmosphere. We stayed on the 6th floor and had a beautiful view of the City. The location was so convenient to everything: China Town, Nob Hill, Union Square, public transportation....The hotel was very quiet and low key. The price was very reasonable for being in the heart of everything. Definitely a repeat.

Room Tip: Cable Car Room--6th Floor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

At an average cost of around $100 a night, the Hotel Mayflower offers amenities and conveniences comparable to much pricier hotels, generally speaking. The wood-rich lobby has a beautiful, Old-World feel, complete with charming, old-fashioned elevators ("lifts") with brass-cage doors one manually opens, once the elevator can be seen docked on the floor through the peephole. Speaking of floors, this building's floors are numbered European-style with the first floor being called the "Lower" level, the first floor then being the actual second floor, the second actually being the third, etc.

We got a lovely corner unit on the 5th floor (which, as I just explained, is actually on the sixth floor). We were blown away by the huge, walk-in closet, which looks to have once hidden a large "Murphy” bed that would have unfold out into the spacious room. But now there is a comfy queen-sized bed in which we both slept very well. The street on which the hotel is located is fairly quiet at night on weekdays, with the usual party-goers’ revelry on weekends. At 5:00 a.m. on Friday and Monday morning, city sanitation workers made a heck of a racket down below emptying the garbage and recyclables (San Francisco needs to pass an ordinance limiting how early they can start collecting the trash)! We had mild nights, so we threw open all the big windows to take in the view of all the surrounding skyscrapers. We even had a nice view of the cityscape outside our much-appreciated bathroom window which we could open to let out shower steam (plenty of hot water was always provided under excellent pressure)! There was a little basket with soaps, lotion, shampoo, etc. in the bathroom, but no hair dryer. If you need a hair-drier, just go down to the front desk and ask for one. They were really friendly to us and bent over backwards to make our stay a pleasant one (they even loaned us umbrellas at the front desk our last day when it was pouring rain uncharacteristically for that time of year)!

Decorated with original art work reflecting historical points of interest in San Francisco, the room also had a small kitchenette with mini-fridge and Goldstar-brand microwave with easy-to-operate, old-fashioned dials! No coffee maker, but we just picked up a jar of instant coffee from one of the nearby grocery markets (there is a big one right next door!) which we zapped in the microwave in one of the two ceramic mugs furnished in the cupboard drawers, along with knives, forks, plates, bowls and spoons.

About this hotel's location: Can't be beat. Period. This hotel is located in an eclectic, but safe neighborhood. If you can get around okay physically, you can catch the "BART" train at the airport at International Terminal "G" (you just hop the airport rail's free blue line to get there) and, for just a little more than $8, ride the area's subway about 40 minutes to the Powell-Street station downtown. From there, it's about a 10-minute walk to Bush Street, about a third of the way up-hill (you could hop the Powell-Street cable car, but, frankly, it looks like it's much easier to just roll your luggage up the street than to try to lug it onto one of those). Take a left on Bush, then the hotel is 4 blocks away.

Once you're all settled in, one of the gates to the mother of all China Towns in North America is just a short walk down Bush Street! Or rent a car from the Alamo/National office a few blocks down Bush Street near Powell and take a day trip across the Golden Gate Bridge up north about an hour to see the giant redwood trees in Muir National Park. And we actually walked to Pier 39 from the hotel (but that was a LONG walk)!

Besides an array of small markets selling groceries, liquor/beer and fresh produce, there are lots of restaurants of every kind, pubs & night clubs, dry cleaners, laundromats, theaters, Notre Dame des Victoires Catholic Church close to the gate to China Town on Grant Street (where mass is held in both English and French), St. Francis Memorial Hospital and a lot of other things located conveniently in the near vicinity.

Okay, the downers: The bathroom did need a fresh coat of paint, though everything was very clean. The décor was dated and hokey, too. And there are no ice machines, but they will give you a Ziploc baggy of ice cubes at the front desk if you ask. But with free, continental breakfast starting at 7:00 a.m., free in-room WiFy (the hotel even has printers), and even a parking garage, we highly recommend this place for any class traveler to San Francisco!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for lots of windows and city views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JeffMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a quick trip with our 2 kids in April. I really appreciated the older details of the place, like the cage elevators (my kids thought they were great fun), the old lighting fixtures, the crystal knobs on the closets. And yes, that's "closets," plural. We had 1 walk-in closet near the "entry" for jackets and suitcase storage, and another walk-in closet with dresser. The closet had a dresser and was large enough to change in, which was nice. Loved all the space. Our room was near the back with a view of a small courtyard, no issues with the city noise.

In a good location for walking: we easily walked to Union Square both nights, China Town and surroundings during the day. In fact, we didn't take use our car the whole stay. Speaking of cars: yes, the garage entrance is TIGHT. :-O Reading reviews here helped us decide to take our older Toyota Avalon on the trip, rather than our mid-size SUV. My husband got the Toyota in, but barely! (The garage itself has room, it's getting down the very, very narrow entrance that's the challenge.) (BTW, you can call and ask if your car will fit, but management refuses to guess! But they do suggest it should be a smaller vehicle.)

Let me add: after reading all the reviews, I was excited to stay here, knew what to expect, etc. That said, my first impression when I walked in off the street wasn't great. The sofa looked old and stained and has very saggy, sad looking cushions. The large coffee table was strewn with a pile of messy magazines, the entry carpet was thin and littered with small debris. Old, faded art prints that probably haven't been changed out since the mid-80s. Just a little sprucing up and attention to detail would've helped so much & made a so-so first impression a lot better.

I found the room itself very clean, nice old bathroom with charming old tiles, a medicine cabinet, good water pressure in the shower. On check-out day, we got some free continental breakfast from the communal dining area...again, a space that could REALLY benefit from a good spring cleaning. Dust and water spots on the artwork, old appliances, just a generally tired atmosphere.

I WOULD stay here again, but just think it could be an even better choice if the owners/management invested in some updates and a little elbow-grease in the public areas.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We just had two separate stays here on our recent west coast trip. Both visits were great. This is just the kind of hotel I like. If you want a glitzy bathroom with all the other big hotel trappings this is not for you. It's a little dated but clean and that's always the main thing for me. It's individual and the people were really friendly and helpful. There's free wifi throughout the hotel, although the signal was a bit patchy in our first room, and free use of the computers on the first floor with a printer for boarding passes etc.

The room itself had an ok rooftop view towards the downtown area and had flat screen tv with a comfy chair. Table and chairs for eating at and a desk for laptop use etc. Mini kitchen area with sink, fridge and microwave and cupboards with cutlery, wine glasses and crockery supplied if you want to eat in. Nice market next door for most food stuffs and plenty of local take out places within a block or so. Comfy queen bed - slept very well with no street noise even with the window open(room was on the 6th floor on the side of the hotel facing East I think).

Breakfast is help yourself buffet style and quite basic but really all you need. Cereal, juice, coffee and toast though no hot stuff. There was a microwave for heating oatmeal etc.

It's about a 10 min walk down the hill to Union Sq and a block from the cable car on Mason St.

We had a great stay at this charming hotel and will definitely stay here when back in San Francisco. It doesn't have a lot of the flash stuff of larger more modern places but it's just the job for a cheap and clean base from which to explore the city.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justanothertourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel is located near Union Square and Nobhill neighborhood. The location is perfect.
rooms are clean and comfortable. Large walk in closet, enough space in the room. All the facilities looked clean and the staff was always kind and willing to help you have a great time during your stay. It offers continental breakfast which is very complete: includes egg, juice, milk, coffee, bread, P&J, nutella, muffins, oatmeal, cookies, cheese, etc. Good food quality. It offers a garage for those who have a car which is very convenient specially in a city like SF where is very few space to park your car. I would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring your own hairdryier.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xitlalli13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Chose this hotel because other people in my travel group were staying here. No online reservation, no credit card required to hold reservation....seemed a bit risky but my fears were laid to rest quickly upon my arrival. I arrived at least 3 hours before official check in time but Nancy promptly checked me in as my room was ready. Hotel Mayflower does everything old school. They use old time check in paper registration cards & receipts books, no computers used during check in. Registration was quick and painless. Our entire party was checked into their rooms and ready for sightseeing within 20 minutes.

The hotel is a throw back to the first part of the last century. Victorian style I think, and its decor represents that with hand painted drawings on the walls.It's a small family owned hotel, approximately 18 rooms per floor, 6. The outside of the building isn't special, looks like any other old, brick building in a downtown location.

The run down:
Friendly, warm, smiling front desk staff eagerly willing to serve their patrons & offer SF advice
Free parking for small to midsize cars
Free continental breakfast that beats with almost every possible choice of breakfast item
Small, but clean & comfortable rooms with sufficient amenities
WiFi is available in all rooms but sporadic for some; I had to sit in corner by front door to connect
but my brother's room worked fine in back of hotel
Free computers with free printer on 1st floor for all guest to use
Microwave & mini fridge with small freezer section, a few dishes & silverware
Ice available at front desk only
Huge walk in closet + additional closet, dresser w/drawers, desk, chairs, clock, TV w/cable
Big, comfy bed with warm bedding, 4 pillows
Bathtub/shower with curtain, pedestal sink, toilet, medicine cabinet, color coordinated plush towels
Amenities include tissues, soap, shampoo, lotion, bath gel
Carpet in bedroom area & linoleum in entry/kitchen area & bathroom
Small grocery market next door is good for drinks, deli meats & a few microwave dinners; pricey

Negatives:
Downtown SF location with a lot of traffic noise that carries upwards to all floors
Neighborhood is mostly residential so you need to walk a few city blocks to get to food & sights
Cold - electric heater provided takes long time to heat room, possibly all night, but once heated OK
Parking Garage - small, tight spaces for smaller cars; exiting garage leaves no room for error!
Elevator is OLD SCHOOL with door and bar guard, but works; holds only 4 people at a time

I would stay here again if I had an extra blanket. The owners & staff were outstanding. I found them to be the nicest people to deal with in SF and in all of the northern California.areas we visited. They had advice for everything we wanted to do and places to go. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel, away from street to minimize the noise and sleeping quality...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paradiseseeker2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,314 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,272 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
3,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Address: 975 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £74 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing