We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mayflower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayflower
Ranked #26 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Adorable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

First of all, I review things for what they are. This is not the Ritz, let's just start there. If you are expecting immaculately clean walls, some grand cooked to order breakfast, and some 4 star room service, the Argonaut is a great choice at about 200 dollars per night extra.

This little slice of home is absolutely fantastic for what it is. It's really inexpensive, quaint, and full of personality.

My husband and I stayed for 2 days coming from Arizona. We got in at 2am, no problem. The guy at the check in counter was so nice, he was asking about our evening and stopped to say "I'm sure you guys are spent and want to lie down, I'll stop talking, here's your key." haha Cute. We were spent. We get in, check the place out. Tiny bathroom, cute little kitchen area with teacups and everything, and an oddly HUMONGOUS walk in closet. It was crazy big. Weird. The bed was not very comfortable. And it was a double, but that's what I asked for so no complaints here. I saw someone comment on how tiny the double bed was. Uhmmm... it's a double bed. They're small.

Anyways, we hit the sack, and got up the next morning bound for Haight street. The breakfast had a very surprisingly wide selection of food. We ate muffins, toast, skipped the hardboiled eggs, and I think my husband had a scone. There were 6 different kinds of tea, coffee, and OJ. I had the tea. It was delish. Back at the room, I needed an iron, called the front desk, and they had one for me! woohoo! The lady at the front desk told us the best way to get to our destination, and we were on our way. That night went on without a hitch. We popped in at about 10, got our stuff and back later on for the night.

Next morning, we used the absolutely adorable computer station on the 2nd floor. Then my husband used the computer and I sat and read one of their books from their bookshelf and sat on the comfy couch next to the computers overlooking the lobby. I was blown away by the cuteness of it all. Seriously.

Our whole stay was great, but then I lost my wallet! I was so bummed, they didn't call me back after a couple days. I called and they still hadn't found it. Someone had stayed in our room and they still hadn't found it. But then they FOUND IT!! The sweet lady at the front called to let me know, and she mailed it out! Yaaaaay!!

Bottom line is we love this place. We couldn't have had a better experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keepmovingfwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    524
    99
    15
    7
See reviews for
278
439
65
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We are 5 and we stayed here for 8 nights. The hotel is very basic but it is clean, well located and breakfast is included in the already very reasonable rate. We got a family suite, which includes a bedroom with a queen bed and a living space with a second TV, 2 sinle beds and a roll-away - just perfect for the 3 kids, Mom and Dad. Breakfast is enough to get you going... Just perfect if you don't need anything but the very basic! A microwave and a small refrigerator I guess could get you out of trouble more than once, though we didn't use them. Definitely a good choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gustavo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

This place is a gem: convenient location, comfortable rooms with windows that actually open, a surprisingly good breakfast, a beit of an old SF ambiance, and modest price. We couldn't imagine why anyone would need more. It reminded us a little of hotels we've stayed in while traveling in Europe.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank speriam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Mayflower for 3 nights.... we loved it. The staff was fun and friendly and always helpful and available. The breakfast was more than enough... it was yummy. We loved the look and feel of the hotel... it was so perfect for San Francisco. It was perfectly located... we walked to China Town and Nob Hill and even down to The Wharf..... and we saw lots of things on the way. It was clean and we absolutely loved the old elevators. The price was great and they even have a small parking garage that we were able to use without any extra cost. We loved it!! I will always stay here when in San Francisco. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights with my kids. We had a family room, which had one queen bed and one very comfortable day bed, that could open up for a fourth sleeper if needed. The hotel was very charming, with a lovely restored lobby, a very comfortable mezzanine with internet stations, and a large breakfast room. Breakfast with its variety of choices and home-baked goodies was a treat. Our room was very large, with huge closets. The ceiling fan was a must, because the room got hot without it at night.

We enjoyed the old-fashioned elevator cage, and the warm welcome and assistance of the front desk staff. A market and laundromat are very close by, as well as 2 good pizza places for a quick bite (Uncle Vito's at Powell and Bush had great pasta!).

One day our room wasn't made up when we returned after being away all day, but the staff made an effort to correct that once we told them. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I will add my voice to those who love this hotel. The location was great -- close to Powell, Union Square and Chinatown. (Best not to walk through the Tenderloin district on the way to and fro, though, so be aware of where that is.) The management knows how to do it right--clean rooms, excellent desk and room staff and a yummy breakfast every morning to start you off right. The breakfast room was always lively and the computer area was better than most internet cafes I've seen. The rooms were so quiet that we couldn't believe there were other people in the hotel most of the time!

The muni "F-line" from the bottom of Powell takes you between Fisherman's Wharf and the Castro in style. Buy the 3 or 7 day pass and you can take the cable car up the hill to the hotel in style! (Few people in line after 7pm.)

Room Tip: The view from room 616 was quite nice! It's a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robinzhere4u2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Even thou the mayflower is a bit outdated, it still is a Great Choice. Room was large enough for our our party of five (We got a suite). Price is OK. If you want to park on the Garage downstairs, don't bring a large car or truck. We could barely fit our rented Jeep Liberty in there by probably less than 2 inches in each side. Staff is excellent. Helpful and kind. Location is perfect. A few blocks from Chinatown.

Room Tip: The Suite will fit 5 in it's two rooms very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Union Square
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
Marines Memorial Club Hotel
#10 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre h...
#17 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayflower

Property: Hotel Mayflower
Address: 975 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94109-6313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mayflower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel San Francisco
Mayflower San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing