We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier with Hotel Vitale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #48 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 February 2012

New, modern hotel on the Embarcadero, in front of the Ferry building. I got a corner room, beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was huge, with an awesome bathtub (that was like a swimming pool) and a separated shower. Every afternoon they leave you chocolates, the weather forecast for tomorrow and a piece of paper with nice quotes! Great detail. Also, if you agree, they leave you the San Francisco Chronicle every morning, hanging from your door nob in a nice little bag.
The staff was amazing, especially Monique, the concierge, very helpful.
Breakfast was delicious (only menu, no buffet) and even though I didn't have dinner or drinks at the restaurant, it was always full of people and seemed like they were having a good time.
Location was amazing, at the beginning of Mission St, right next to Market St and the ferry building. Bus 14 and Cable car F stops on the same corner of the hotel, MUNI station a block away, and a 10 minute walk to Union Square. The neighborhood is clean, with beautiful views of the Bay Bridge, has a good nightlife atmosphere and many places to eat and drink since it's very close to offices.
I know it might be a little more expensive than other hotels I considered booking in SF, but for me, it was worth every penny. I recommend it without hesitating.
Ps: finally took some photos of the room!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandrabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Alejandrabc

We are so delighted to hear that you had exceptional experience during your recent stay at Hotel Vitale. We are so fortunate to be centrally located in a clean and lively atmosphere in San Francisco, and even more privileged to have an amazing team—including Monique, who is fabulous—that aims to celebrate every guest experience. Hotel Vitale team members aim to provide each guest with a memorable, urban escape that leaves them feeling better than expected – it is my pleasure to read that they have done so.

Next time you are in San Francisco, we invite you to dine at Americano where our chef’s create savory, local dishes that feature several ingredients from the Ferry Building right across the street. You won’t regret it. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to providing you with another relaxing experience.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

A beautiful location, beautiful room and wonderful staff. The terraces with views of the Bay Bridge are worth the price alone. We were give a large carafe of coffee, free of charge from the restaurant to enjoy on the terrace along with a complementary San Francisco Chronicle. If you enjoy spa treatments, the eighth floor is dedicated to quiet relaxing treatments.We travel to the city often, and this is our favorite hotel yet!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveturlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear jeannette5ofus:

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at Hotel Vitale and especially enjoyed our Terraces. Any of our three terraces are a delightful spot to view the Bay Bridge and relax – I’m glad you were able to take advantage of this unique experience.

Our spa is also a great place to revitalize after a day in our beautiful city, and we are proud to offer a new Warm Bamboo Renewal treatment. The service includes techniques with polished bamboo tools, heat, and essential oils to provide a deeply relaxing experience. Even during the short time it has been offered it has quickly become a guest favorite – during your next visit we encourage you to take part in this unique opportunity.

Should your travels bring you back to San Francisco, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Vitale.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Reasons I loved it: rooftop deck, great location (a great Saturday market across the street at the ferry terminal), great views, clean, comfortable - unpretentious decor/ambience, great service (they threw away the old drinks in our car) Lather bath products! The only negative was the price of valet - almost $50!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubupak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear dubupak

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the naturally luxurious ambiance of Hotel Vitale. At Hotel Vitale we strive to provide a relaxing and revitalizing experience for our guests that provides a retreat from the uniquely urban city of San Francisco.

We are so fortunate to have an amazing team, such as our valet team, who are committed to providing every guest with great services – even when they may not even be looking. Since parking is priced at a premium in San Francisco, we do understand if you feel that the parking charge is expensive, however we do our best to remain competitive with our surrounding area.

Thank you for your honest feed back – it is with these opinions that we can continue to exceed the expectations of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Vitale.


Warm Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Vitale for two nights back in September and found the hotel to be first rate. Firstly it's not cheap and if you want a room with a view then be prepared to pay even more. However it's location is fantastic and you can sit across from the Embarcadero whilst enjoying a few drinks in the hotel bar. The room we stayed in was an urban studio which came with a separate shower and bath - great being able to have a bath whilst looking out to the bay. The only thing to be wary of is the rather expensive valet service - $45 a night is not cheap in my mind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Richard P:

I am delighted to hear that you not only enjoyed the convenient location of Hotel Vitale. I apologize for the unexpected price of the valet Service; however, because location and parking is priced at a premium in San Francisco, we do our best to make sure we are competitively priced. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Vitale in the future.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

A truly accommodating experience filled with a warm, lavender frangranced hand towel upon check-in, comfortable beds, complimentary wi-fi, and excellent staff.
The most discriminating tastes would be impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xomissalyssaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear xomissalyssxo:

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful experience at Hotel Vitale. Our team strives to provide each guest with warm, relaxing accommodations where they can experience luxury, naturally, and we are delighted to have had you stay with us. Should your travels bring you back to San Francisco, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Vitale.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We only stayed for one night on our way to the east coast and we were grateful that our room was available when we arrived at 11am given we had been travelling for 15 hours. The room was on the 7th floor and it had a great view of the bay. When I booked, I asked for an upgrade to a higher floor which costs $100. I`m not sure that the extra money is worth it as it`s the only time we`ve stayed here and not sure what the rooms are like on the lower floors. We usually stay at the Fairmont Ghirardelli Square which has similar prices but only takes bookings for 3 nights or more. The location of Hotel Vitale is ok but again, it depends what you`re wanting to see and do. There are a few restaurants close by but we chose to eat at the Americano in the hotel. The pizzas were good and the service was ok. Would we return? Possibly, if the price was better.

Room Tip: Higher floors might have less street noise given the location on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NT1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear NT1001:

I am pleased to hear that our team was able to make early accommodations for you upon arrival. We are fortunate to have all of our rooms nicely appointed and through the color scheme strive to bring the outdoors in. In addition, we are in close proximity to the Ferry Building, Financial District, and several public transportation outlets.

I am pleased you were able to enjoy the pizza in Americano and suggest when looking for activities to partake in during you visit, our Concierge team is a great resource to take advantage of. They have access to an outstanding list of restaurants and have the ability to reserve tickets to any major show, production, or sports event. In addition, they are extremely current on local happenings and can recommend activities that suit your personal interests. If you should come back to San Francisco, we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Vitale and show you all the unique experiences to be enjoyed in the area.

Warm Regards,

Melony Williams, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Vitale was without doubt one of my best hotel experiences
From the 7 series pick up at the airport though the lovely welcome
A nice bottle of fizz waiting In the beautifully decorated room (and we stayed in
The standard room type ) through the speedy confirmation of our table at Commonwealth
Restaurant on Mission and within 2 hours of arriving we were sitting at our table
Enjoying fantastic food at one of the city's best restaurants
The hotel just got better every day great location By the ferry terminal
3 mins walk to the slanted door restaurant And blue bottle coffee
15 mins walk to Barneys 15 seconds across the road to the famous boulevard restaurant
And the Americano restaurant in the hotel has great food and the bar is buzzing
I would be amazed if any reasonable person did not love this place

Room Tip: Standard room type is spacious and absolutely superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpetdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Vitale, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Carpetdave:

I am delighted to learn that you had an exceptional visit to Hotel Vitale and the San Francisco area. Hotel Vitale is situated among a vast collection of wonderful restaurants and activities, which we are happy to hear you enjoyed, including Americano. We take great pride in exceeding our guests’ expectations and appreciate your kind feedback. When you are back in the area, we hope you will visit us again.

Warmest Regards,

Melony Williams
General Manager, Hotel Vitale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#21 of 231 in San Francisco
882 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
565 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 231 in San Francisco
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#50 of 231 in San Francisco
4,750 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,579 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £199 - £556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing