We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #23 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights in June.
Excellent side room on the 5th floor with great view of Bay Bridge.
Very comfortable bed.
On the edge of financial district and opposite Ferry Building this hotel is in a great position for a stay in San Francisco.
Particular thanks to the concierge,Steve, who gave us very helpful advice regarding restaurants, transport,places to visit etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Geoff033:

I am delighted to hear that your Hotel Vitale experience was altogether excellent. The views of the bay are quite popular year round, and our beds are not only comfortable, they are famous—take a look at the ceiling in Americano next time you visit to see them featured in “The Dreamers” series. I will be sure to let Steve know that his suggestions improved your trip, it is always wonderful to know when your work is appreciated. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are visiting California.

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    405
    121
    48
    37
See reviews for
192
625
94
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely staff. Great location, right across from the Ferry Building. Beautiful room overlooking the bridge. Very nice terraces on 5th and 7th floors (sometimes reserved for private events.)
Lively cafe for afternoon tea (or happy hour... more frequently, so it seemed.)

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor to avoid the noise from the bar. The bridge view room had a lovely view. Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear AmyLipton:

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that your Hotel Vitale experience was altogether lovely. With the Ferry Building, terraces, and an Americano visit, it sounds like the only thing you weren’t able to experience was Spa Vitale! Well, I hope we can entice you with a lovely massage and Bathing Ritual next time you are here—looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here as part of our West coast trip down from British Columbia

We had booked a room through our agents, which should have been 'superior with water view'

What we got was a room on the second floor (our first floor) overlooking The Embacadero with a shot of water view between the buildings opposite, and the hotel patio which was extended onto the pavement. There was a function on the patio each night, right outside our window, culminating in a disco on the last night, which really intruded on our privacy as you could not keep curtains open otherwise guests on the patio could see right in!

Our deluxe room was actually a room for a disabled person, with disabled access facilities in the bathroom which was larger than normal, and two Queen size beds in the sleeping area. When we enquired as to why we had a disabled access room we were told that was because we wanted a water view (there were at least four more floors above ours so I'm not sure why we had the one we did. I don't know what a standard room looked like.

The decor in the hotel was drab and dreary, not at all welcoming, with a large unfriendly grille separating the lounge area and restaurant from the large empty reception area. The hotel is part of the Joie de Vivre group, but this particular hotel seemed to have missed out!

On the plus side the staff were very helpful. When we arrived early they made sure we could book in with minimum delay. It had been my birthday a few days earlier and we had a bottle of bubbly and some wine delivered to our room, which was very welcome. The concierge, Keith, was also very helpful answering our numerous queries and when we commented on the noise and disturbance in our room, our in-house dining bill was waived.

All in all, I'm sure there are far worse hotels in San Francisco but if you do stay here - the location is about 15 minutes walk from Union Square and right opposite the refurbished Ferry House, with lots going on (good breakfast at The Market Place, which had much more atmosphere than the hotel restaurant - make sure you have a room at least on the third floor or above

Room Tip: If you want a water view, with some privacy ask for a room on third floor or above. Remember these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackiR143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVitaleGM, Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear JackiR143:

I am sorry to hear that your room was not as you had expected—if you would like to contact myself or our reservations department directly, we will be happy to indicate your preference for a quiet, non-accessible room on your profile. Our hotel design incorporates the calming tones and textures of nature, which is intended to be relaxing and rejuvenating for our guests. If that is not the atmosphere you felt, I will make a note to review our décor the next time we have an opportunity for a refresh. I am so glad to hear that you were able to connect with our front desk and concierge teams—they always have such wonderful and personalized recommendations for our guests. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon for a nice quiet stay.

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
261 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I last stayed 7 years ago and didn't love the Vitale. This time I really enjoyed it. The rooms are good size with comfy beds. The bathroom is modern with good products. The location continues to be great. The only down fall was the women at the front desk. On 2 separate occasions I asked simple questions and was given slight attitude. If I knew the answer I wouldn't have asked almost came out of my mouth..... All other staff were great and helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear livinginlondon1344:
First of all, thank you for staying with us again, seven years ago we were still quite new, so it is good to hear that we have improved! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your room—there’s nothing like a comfy bed to recover from jet lag in after such a long trip. Alternatively, I am disappointed to hear that your front desk interactions were not up to our standard of service—we will be sure to review our standards with the team. We hope to see you again soon—hopefully in less than seven years!

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stortford UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013 for Business. Great smooth check in and excellent view of the Bay Bridge.

Room was spacious and clean with a lovely big bathroom and I had a view of one of the side buildings and street which was fine. Good location easy to walk to the ferry building and only a 20 minute walk down to Fisherman's Wharf.

Staff really friendly and enjoyed a light bar snack in the bar which was great. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmaharroduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear gemmaharroduk:
I am so glad that your stay with us last year was excellent. We do have a great deal of business travelers because we are in the Financial District and so close to many corporate offices. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you will get a chance to stay with us for leisure next time.

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at every aspect. They checked us in 2 hours early; every person we encountered was courteous; hotel decor beautiful and room spotless. Then the location....crosswalk away from Boulevard, Ferry building and walking distance of many notable restaurants. If there is a negative ..I would find parking elsewhere as only parking is valet @55.00 per day. Best night to be there is Friday with very hopping bar inside and out...next morning walk to farmers market at Ferry Building.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Cindy V:
I am happy to hear that our team was accommodating and aesthetics pleasing to you. My apologies if our valet price seems high, but parking can be quite a challenge in San Francisco, and you will find that our overnight valet cost quite comparable with other downtown hotels. Friday nights are quite busy for us and especially on warm evenings, you would be hard pressed to find a more popular place than the Americano patio. Thank you for considering us your “SF Favorite” and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
209 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Second visit at this hotel. It is probably one of the best ones in San Francisco. Rooms with a view on the Bay Bridge are stunning, in particular at night time with the lights on the bridge. Rooms are very comfy and modern, beautiful bathrooms. Excellent beds and very quiet rooms, ensuring perfect sleep. Very good spa services and great outside space on the top floor to relax.

Green Features: Very good. Towel and bed sheets reused. Eco friendly lights. Organic food.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVitaleGM, General Manager at Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Pierre171:
It is always good to hear from return guests—you know you’re doing something right when people keep coming back! The bridge views are wonderful when you can see them from your room at night—it feels like the Bay Lights are like your own personal light show. I am glad you enjoyed Spa Vitale, we have recently been updating our services, so there is always something new to experience. We hope to see you again soon for a third visit.

Sincerely,
Antoine Berberi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,825 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#30 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 8 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and rejuvenate while enjoying our stunning water and city vistas, in-house spa with rooftop soaking tubs and signature Americano Restaurant & Bar. It's time for some "you" time.Our guestrooms offer luxurious limestone bathrooms, soothing color palettes, honor bars with decadent and healthful options, and the rejuvenating LATHER line of bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitale Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Vitale
Vitale San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing